MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

New build announcements plus site news and changes.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, Craig

Craig
Great Wyrm
Posts: 2107
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by Craig »

Warning... This is a Development build so take care!

I hope it goes with out saying but I am going to say it anyway do NOT edit your campaign in this version and then expect to go back to the stable 1.4.0.x builds, please make a backup!
If you and your group are new to MapTool please use the latest 1.4.0.x stable build.

This will be the last 1.4.1.x build with new features, the plan now is to fix any bugs and only create 1.4.1.7 if more testing is required. After that a new 1.4.2.0 build will be created and 1.4.2.x will become the new stable builds with only minor functionality and bug fixes added. At the same time a new 1.4.3.x development branch will be created.

You can download it here http://maptool.craigs-stuff.net/test-builds/


Build 1.4.1.6
New Features
  • New tab on Edit Token Dialog to show Token VBL which allows: (Jamz)
    • Auto Generation of VBL based on non transparent/translucent image pixels
    • Clearing of Token VBL
    • Toggle for "Always Show" which will show the token over FoW when another token can see x of it's 9 regions, with x = Visibility Tolerance setting on token.
  • Normal VBL layer shows Token VBL as translucent yellow under normal VBL to assist in placement (Jamz)
  • Added "Always Visible" menu option to Token/Stamp pop-up menu (right clicking on token) which replaces "Block Vision" from previous release (Jamz)
  • Campaign export updated with new Token class fields for omission (Jamz)
  • New Macro functions to support new token vbl options: (Jamz)
    • setAlwaysVisible() & getAlwaysVisible, set/get Always Visible option on tokens
    • getTokenVBL() & setTokenVBL(), to set/get VBL stored on tokens
    • transferVBL() directly transfers vbl from token to normal VBL if true, otherwise it transfers from VBL to token
  • Fix for wrong jar file version being specified in launcher properties (Craig)
  • Fix for the extreamly slow mass deletion of items on the object, hidden, or background layers (Craig)
Bug Fixes
  • Squashed a bug that prevented getExposedTokens() macro from returning proper tokens when a Figure token or VBL Token was on the map. (Jamz)
  • Squashed a bug that prevented getExposedTokens() macro from returning proper tokens if No Vision was selected at the same time FoW was turned on. (Jamz)
  • Minor cleanup of a couple classes for imports and console debug statements (Jamz)

Build 1.4.1.5
Fixes for build issues in 1.4.1.4

Build 1.4.1.4
New Features
  • Chinese translation updates. (lessercn@...)
  • Added ability to pass arguments to js.eval("expression", [arg, ... argN]). Arguments are available in the JavaScript expresion in an array called args[]. (Craig).
  • New menu option under Export -> Campaign As...
  • New Campaign Export dialog to select a previous version of MapTool to export as. Notes on what is stripped during exports are shown in the dialog and stored in the il8n language files.
Bug Fixes
  • Typo fixed in English translations (Azhrei)
  • Fix for MacOS X Dock and Menu String (Jamz)
  • Bug Fix to Support Multiple Monitors.
Build/Code Related
  • Fix eclipseClasspath in gradle build so that it creates entry in classpath for Nashorn. (Jamz)
  • DrawableGroupConverter class is unused at this time but added as an example on how to do custom xstream conversions for a class.
  • Updated X-Stream to version 1.4.9 to match Rplib

Build 1.4.1.3
New Features
  • JavaScript API (first tentative steps) (Craig)
  • Draw explorer additions (Jagged)
    • set and get properties and merge drawing functions
  • Light/Fow/VBL (Jamz)
    • New checkRegion method to do a more relaxed bounds check, for use with VBL Tokens.
    • VBL Tokens now only show when token can "see" them. Currently 2/9ths of token need to be seen, that is 2 out of 9 "regions".
    • Multi-threaded one of the heavier chunks of code that processes Light. Slight improvements in some case, substantial improvements in others. YMMV
    • Beginning work on showing VisionBlocking Token over FoW. More enhancements to come.
    • New lighting option, "lumens" allows fow to be concealed vs revealed, ie "Magical Darkness" effect.
    • Token FoW path logic now multi-threaded to improve performance
    • drawPolygonVBL Macro bug fixed if x OR y where the same as last coordinate it would not draw.
    • FoW changes; new buttons drive what FoW is displayed [GM, All, PC, NPC] and is driven by ownership/GM permissions. Player clients can now see FoW for NPC's if they own them. GM's can now see FoW based on NPC, PC or "adversaries", ie tokens with no ownership. This gives GM's a better perspective on what each token can "see".
    • NPC's can now reveal FoW on movement (is Server option is checked). This allows player clients who "own" NPC tokens to freely move them, exposing FoW along the way.
    • New Macro function, exposeAllOwnedArea; exposes FoW for any tokens owned by the user
    • New Macro function, restoreFoW; resets all FoW for the map, duplicates the FoW reset when you import a new map sans dialog
    • New Map Menu, Restore Fog-of-War; duplicates the FoW reset when you import a new map with dialog prompt.
    • New Macro function, toggleFoW, duplicates menu function of the same
    • New Macro function, exposeFogAtWaypoints, duplicates menu function of the same
    • Map Menu option, FoW: Expose only at waypoints; Exposes Fow only at waypoints vs every cell along a tokens path
    • Lights has a new option, lumens (to be documented)
    • FoW has several changes to what a client or GM view can see is now based on "ownership" vs NPC/PC. (to be documented)
    • FoW "view" buttons control which tokens (via ownership) are used to show the current FoW. ie a GM can now see what his antagonists see, what the PC's see, what all NPC's can see, or what everyone can see. PC's get the same options by restricted again by ownership.
  • New Deployment Option: jWrapper (Jamz)
    • Updated MT Launcher to play nicely with jWrapper (mt.cfg moved to users .maptool/config directory to persist across upgrades)
    • New Icon created for Launcher
    • New Splash screen created for MapTool (also used for jWrapper installing splash)
    • SplashScreen class updated to support transparent background images and new coords for version #
    • New command line options for MapTool, debug, version, monitor, fullscreen, width, height, xpos, ypos. use -w=500 or -width=500 for instance to set MT frame width to 500. -fullscreen has no param.
    Other (Jamz)
    • Tokens now save a "large" thumbnail for use with larger preview thumbs. Small thumbnail is still saved for backwards compatibility with older MT versions.
    • Token "Path" improvements, fixes issue when dragging nonSnapToGrid with snapToGrid tokens together.
    • Token popup menu, Save As... now works on multiple tokens. Options added to default to token name or GM name as well as skip/show all prompts during save.
    • Token popup menu, Block Vision menu option creates VBL under token based on non-transparent pixels. Further refinements to be added...
    • Statusbar; Asset Cache Status shows disk spaced used by Assets in users .maptool folder. Double click on status flushes disk cache.
    • Statusbar; Image Thumbs Cache Status shows disk spaced used by Image thumbnails in users .maptool folder. Double click on status flushes disk cache.
    • Statusbar; User home free space Status shows free disk space for users home folder (where .maptool resides).
    • Asset Tree Right-Click menu option "Rescan..." to rescan a directory (as MT caches folder contents after they are read)
    • Thumbnail size increased to 500x500. This gives a much better preview of larger images (like maps) in the asset preview window now that they can be scaled with control+mousewheel.
    • Path fixes! These fixes come from Lee way back to 1.3b89 patches. It fixes snapToGrid and nonSnapToGrid tokens are moved together. (Lee/Jamz)
    • Save As Compatible lays the ground work to strip various fields/classes "on campaign save" so it's compatible with an older version.
Bug Fixes
  • MapTool Launcher Bug Fixes (Jamz)
    • Updated gradle build to reflect new launch.properties config to replace mt.cfg
    • launch.properties is now updated and stored as a resource in the JAR to be used as a default for new installations and to update JAR/JRE path values on new installations
    • New property MAPTOOL_VERSION added to track launch.properties and update properly when new MapTool version detected
    • Fixed Logging Bug, logging selections now persist properly across multiple launches
    • Default configuration (launch.properties) should properly install itself across all OS types
    • If jWrapper JRE is used (default unless changed) and a new version is detected, the config property will be updated
    • copyXmlFiles method commented out, default logging xml files stored in .maptool/logging directory
    • launch.properties in the same directory as the JAR will be used instead of what is stored in .maptool/config directory to allow mutltiple versions to be installed/ran manually
    • Updated template to remove mt.cfg references
  • Other
    • Fix for slow token deletion. https://github.com/RPTools/maptool/issues/47 (Craig)
    • Bug Fix: autoResize feature (Right-Click drag) https://github.com/RPTools/maptool/issues/49 (Jamz)
    • Maptool installing spash updated to match MT splash (added shadow under gear logo) (Jamz)
    • FoW bug fixed where calls to expose FoW were not passed to clients (Jamz)
    • Bug fix, statsheet will no longer show (and thus get in the way) when a token is being dragged. It will only show "on hover" when no mouse buttons are pressed. (Jamz)
    • Asset Tree duplicate listener removed which was causing asset tree contents to be refreshed twice. (Jamz)
    • AutoResize dialog bug fixed for vertical anchor text. (Jamz)
    • Fix for incorrect dock name and menu name in Mac OS X (Jamz)
Build/refactoring/"plumbing" related (Jamz)
  • Update gradle.properties.sample
  • Spotless prep for license application across java source.
  • Several new gradle tasks created to support fat jar creation and jWrapper build
  • Sample gradle.properties.sample file showing properties needed to run jWrapper build
  • Token class implements Cloneable now
  • Updated Spotless to 1.3.3 which includes 37 formatter fixes from Eclipse.
  • A couple of "formatting" changes to classes due to Spotless update (only a few classes, very minor)


JavaScript Additions
It is now possible to evaluate JavaScript with the MTScript macro js.eval(), .e.g {js.eval('return 1+1')}.
The JavaScript is wrapped up to stop scripts interfering with each other accidently so the return in the above is important. I know its not full JavaScript scripting at the moment, but other things have to happen before we can get the adding of complete scripts working. So its a case of one step at a time, and this allows us to create and test the API for full scripting (as well as get feedback) in preperation for when we can do the rest. The js.eval() function will remain even when there is full JavaScript scripting so its safe to use it in MTScript macros going forward.

There are two global objects available to your scripts.
MapTool, which holds objects/functions for interacting with (you guessed it MapTool)
MTScript, which holds objects/functions for interacting with MapTool Script/macro language.
As I said before there is not a whole lot yet just the behind the scenes stuff and some functionality to test different things (but you can still write some of your complex code as java script if you want as you can easily pass information back and forward between MTScript and JavaScript)
Strings, Numbers, JSON objects/arrays should all be converted to the correct representation when passing between MTScript and JavaScript

Broadcast
[js.eval("MapTool.chat.broadcast('This is a test')")]
[js.eval("MapTool.chat.broadcastTo(['gm'],'This is a test too')")]
[js.eval("MapTool.chat.broadcastToGM('This is a test to GMs')")]

ClientInfo
[js.eval('return MapTool.clientInfo.faceEdge()')]
[js.eval('return MapTool.clientInfo.faceVertex()')]
[js.eval('return MapTool.clientInfo.portraitSize()')]
[js.eval('return MapTool.clientInfo.showStatSheet()')]
[js.eval('return MapTool.clientInfo.version()')]
[js.eval('return MapTool.clientInfo.fullScreen()')]
[js.eval('return MapTool.clientInfo.timeInMs()')]
[js.eval('return MapTool.clientInfo.timeDate()')]
[js.eval('return MapTool.clientInfo.libraryTokens()')]
[js.eval('return MapTool.clientInfo.userDefinedFunctions()')]

Executing a MTScript macro and return result to JavaScript
[js.eval("MTScript.evalMacro('{a = a + 2d6}')")]
[js.eval("MTScript.execMacro('{a = 20d6}')")]

Reading/Setting MTScript macro variables
[js.eval("return MTScript.getVariable('a') +12")]
[a = js.eval("return { val1: 'a', val2: 'b' }")][json.get(a, 'val2')]
[a = js.eval("return [111,2,333,44]")] [json.get(a,2)]
[js.eval("MTScript.setVariable('a', 12)")][a]


Retrieve Tokens on a map and display thier name
(Unfortionately you can not do more than this yet)
[js.eval("return MapTool.tokens.getMapTokens()")]
[js.eval("return MapTool.tokens.getMapTokens()[0].getName()")]
[js.eval("return MapTool.tokens.getMapTokens()[1].getName()")]

Abort/Raise Error/Assert MTScript style
[js.eval("MTScript.raiseError('What an Error!?!?')")]
[js.eval("MTScript.abort()")]
[js.eval("MTScript.mtsAssert(true, 'nothing to see here')")]
[js.eval("MTScript.mtsAssert(false, 'something to see here')")]

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9024
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by aliasmask »

Is there a download location for the compiled dev version or will have to compile with eclipse and make my own build?

Craig
Great Wyrm
Posts: 2107
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by Craig »

aliasmask wrote:Is there a download location for the compiled dev version or will have to compile with eclipse and make my own build?
Oops I forgot (but its same as last ones).
http://maptool.craigs-stuff.net/test-builds/
(I will also edit original post to add that)


User avatar
lmarkus001
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 12:30 am
Location: Layfayette Hill, PA

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by lmarkus001 »

1.4.1.7 has been stable for a few game sessions using my framework. I admit I have not stress tested some of the newer capabilities.

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12086
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by Azhrei »

I've been running 1.4.1.7+ (meaning it has a couple of extra bug fixes) and I agree that it's been pretty stable. The current plan is for the next one to be 1.4.2 but we have some build issues to work out first. (Oops, and I need to get wolph's manifest files for Windows into the build so they'll be included in 1.4.2...)

User avatar
Jalella
Kobold
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 5:27 am
Location: Germany

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by Jalella »

I tested a bit around 1.4.1.7 now and everything seems fine. Just one thing: the token icons in the Resource Library are updating very slowly sinceit is possible to change the size of them. Would be nice if that could be improved (or the sizing feature removed or optional).
Testing it with a LAN server seems to be also slower in network connectivity than the same campaign ran with 1.4.0.2.
Great version though!

Tyshalle
Giant
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by Tyshalle »

I've been using version 1.4.1.7, and I'm running into three bugs pretty regularly. The first one is merely annoying, the second and third are nearly gamebreaking.

The first bug is that when using the ruler tool, or when moving tokens, you used to be able to right click on the map to pan around without dropping the ruler or the tokens. Now, however, you drop the tokens, and lose the ruler, which makes measuring movement speed or just using the ruler for distances extremely difficult if you need to go decent distances.

The second is that, seemingly for no reason at all, all typing functions stop working for some period of time. I'm not sure what causes this, or what brings them back. All I know is that I will still be able to move around the map, click buttons, scroll up and down the chat log, but I won't be able to type in the chat room, any framework specific popups, or even the Save As window when trying to save the campaign.

The third is that, so far only on very large maps, but several times now I will suddenly not be able to maintain control over objects or tokens on the map. Trying to drag the mouse to select multiple objects won't result in the drag square at all. Sometimes I can click on individual objects, but even this is infrequent.

My settings are default min, 2048 Max, Stack 5. I've been using these settings with 1.3 forever, so I'm not sure why they'd be the culprit, if they are.

taustinoc
Dragon
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:30 pm

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by taustinoc »

On #2, are you sure it's MapTool and not your computer or keyboard? Can you pull up the Start menu and type into the search box, or in anything else outside of MapTool?

From what you describe, it wouldn't surprise me if you had a keyboard going bad.

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9024
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by aliasmask »

taustinoc wrote:On #2, are you sure it's MapTool and not your computer or keyboard? Can you pull up the Start menu and type into the search box, or in anything else outside of MapTool?

From what you describe, it wouldn't surprise me if you had a keyboard going bad.
I've had the same issue but I know it was from lag, well a player's lag. It completely locks up my system where I can't type. Clearing the player tokens with ctrl-shift-o removed the lag. There was a previous map with lots of vbl and I assume the data was still on the token. You can try that and also try removing individual views to see if that clears it up.

User avatar
JamzTheMan
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1872
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 12:59 pm
Location: Chicagoland
Contact:

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by JamzTheMan »

I'll try and replicate the first one, not sure what the cause would be, that code should be untouched...

For the 2nd, that's going to be tricky unless we can replicate it. AM may be on to something though. If you have plenty of memory, try running it at 3072 or 4096 max memory? Not sure what OS or 32/64 bit or what java you ran at with 1.3 so could be a jump and may using slightly more memory than you are use to.
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork

Tyshalle
Giant
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by Tyshalle »

taustinoc wrote:On #2, are you sure it's MapTool and not your computer or keyboard? Can you pull up the Start menu and type into the search box, or in anything else outside of MapTool?

From what you describe, it wouldn't surprise me if you had a keyboard going bad.
I'm 100% certain it's not my computer. Nothing else is affected, and my keyboard/mouse are brand new and I play a lot of FPS's so I'd notice if they were crapping out on me. I can pull up the start menu, type on instant messengers outside of MapTool, and do anything else.

I will say, I am using a variant of a Framework AliasMask made for me several years ago, which he might still be using. Perhaps there's something in that framework that's causing us to have the same issue? I only suggest that because for me, the easiest way to get things to start working again is to click the ROLL button and then cancel the function.


JamzTheMan wrote:I'll try and replicate the first one, not sure what the cause would be, that code should be untouched...

For the 2nd, that's going to be tricky unless we can replicate it. AM may be on to something though. If you have plenty of memory, try running it at 3072 or 4096 max memory? Not sure what OS or 32/64 bit or what java you ran at with 1.3 so could be a jump and may using slightly more memory than you are use to.
I just jumped up to 4096 max memory, and I'm still having the issues. I'm using 64-bit on Windows 7. The third issue I complained about, which is that object control starts going wonky, immediately started happen.

It's doing it mainly, as far as I can tell, with large-ish images, like 1 MB or larger.

Also, the issue with the ruler and token movement thing is super easy to replicate. All you have to do is drag the map while in the middle of dragging a token or using the ruler tool and it'll happen.

Anyway, I don't think any of this stuff is memory issues. I could be wrong, but I rarely go past 1300M according to the bar at the bottom right of MapTool, and I've got like 16 GB of RAM.

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9024
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by aliasmask »

Tyshalle wrote:Anyway, I don't think any of this stuff is memory issues. I could be wrong, but I rarely go past 1300M according to the bar at the bottom right of MapTool, and I've got like 16 GB of RAM.
Having your memory max out at 1300 is indicative of the 32bit version of java. If your max mem is set higher then MapTool doesn't usually open.

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by Full Bleed »

Tyshalle wrote:Also, the issue with the ruler and token movement thing is super easy to replicate. All you have to do is drag the map while in the middle of dragging a token or using the ruler tool and it'll happen.
Sounds like you need to share your campaign for people to look at to see it they can replicate it as easily as you can.
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

User avatar
JamzTheMan
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1872
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 12:59 pm
Location: Chicagoland
Contact:

Re: MapTool DEV Build 1.4.1.6

Post by JamzTheMan »

The first bug is that when using the ruler tool, or when moving tokens, you used to be able to right click on the map to pan around without dropping the ruler or the tokens. Now, however, you drop the tokens, and lose the ruler, which makes measuring movement speed or just using the ruler for distances extremely difficult if you need to go decent distances.
So, I just tested this in 1.4.1.4, 1.4.0.5, 1.4.0.0, and 1.3b91, they all drop the token/ruler if you right-click on the map... So either it's been acting this way for a while or something else is going on. If you still have a older version of MT that you can pan while moving tokens, let me know what version it is...
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork

Post Reply

Return to “Announcements”