RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 3:08 pm 




Forum rules


PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5499
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject: Suggestion: Copy and Paste between apps
PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:43 pm 
It would be great if I could copy an object within Maptool and paste it within Photoshop or other apps. And vice versa.

Any reason why the copy paste doesn't work outside of Maptool?

The reason: Sometimes I take objects found on the web and drop them within Maptool. Then I will make a campaign file but then I find that I want to edit the object in Photoshop but I cannot because I don't have the original file.

Thoughts?

Maybe they are in the file system somewhere and I can get them that way?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
 
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Posts: 11389
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:04 pm 
The reason it doesn't work right now is because copy and paste is really a construct and not automatic.

There is a concept of a "clipboard" that exists outside of the running java instance that you can put stuff in and take stuff out of.

I can imagine that when you copy a token I could also put the image data into the system clipboard. That way you can paste into an art program.

But the other way around is trickier: copy a token in maptool, then copy an image in photoshop, the token is in the MT internal clipboard while the photoshop image is in the system clipboard, which one should be pasted ?

Hmmm, I suppose I could use the system clipboard to store the tokens instead of the internal one. It might be tricky since it stores tokens, and not images. Might have to mess around with the data flavor type, see if I can make that work.

_________________
Dreaming of a 1.3 release


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
 
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Posts: 11389
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:04 pm 
I added a tracker so I won't forget to investigate later

_________________
Dreaming of a 1.3 release


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman