MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

New build announcements plus site news and changes.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, Craig

User avatar
aliasmask
Deity
Posts: 8667
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by aliasmask »

Gridreaper wrote:Is there a workaround for this bug because it just hit me out of nowhere and no matter what I do I cant defeat the token replace bug!

http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=21348&start=45#p221194

or just use b87.

ziltmilt
Dragon
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by ziltmilt »

Can I resize objects in B87? I noticed that's an issue w/ B88 as well.

User avatar
aliasmask
Deity
Posts: 8667
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by aliasmask »

ziltmilt wrote:Can I resize objects in B87? I noticed that's an issue w/ B88 as well.

This is not a bug in b87. It's related to a patch in b88. So, using b87 will allow you to resize freesize tokens.

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12061
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by Azhrei »

There have been too many problems with b88 and not enough time to look at all of them right now. I have moved b88 to "broken" status, which means it won't appear on the web site as the latest development branch any more -- b87 will.

My work schedule for next week has canceled, which means I have the some time to work on MapTool. I have a couple of deadlines for early in the week, but after that my time is my own... I hope to get some of these issues cleaned up and a new build out by the end of the week.

(The deadlines relate to my brother's web site. I'm the lead JS developer for a few of the most technical pages on the site, and development of those pages has been a huge drain on what would otherwise be known as "free time". If I can get the current web pages cleaned up enough to give them to him for testing, I'll have time for MT.)

User avatar
wrathchild
Dragon
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by wrathchild »

Web page seems not to have reverted to b87 as of yet.
Entering the Digital Age of Roleplaying.
Part of the Resident GURPS Lobby.
Calling for Halos to be Hexified.

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12061
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by Azhrei »

Ah, thank you! I thought the PHP code was supposed to use the most recent ZIP file that matched a particular wildcard pattern, but it doesn't -- it uses the contents of a text file. I had to put the settings for b87 back into that text file to fix it.

I'm going to have to modify the PHP code so that it works the way I thought it worked. Then this breakage wouldn't have happened. ;)

User avatar
PinkRose
Dragon
Posts: 732
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:28 pm
Location: The City of Roses, Oregon

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by PinkRose »

How is the rebuild going on this new b89 patch?
I am a special snowflake!

Grimshad
Kobold
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 5:40 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by Grimshad »

I'm loving Maptool and eagerly awaiting build 89. I am currently running build 87 since 88 crashes on me. 87 has bugs and error with fog of war running java 7 so I reverted to java 6 and it works fine now, but Maptool runs about 50% slower and lags a lot.

So here's to hopes of a new build soon! :)

P.S. I am a software engineer with some free time, if you guys need another coder on your team I could lend a hand squashing bugs and adding features for a while. Just let me know.

User avatar
Raoden
Dragon
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 2:33 am
Location: San Diego

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by Raoden »

Grimshad wrote:P.S. I am a software engineer with some free time, if you guys need another coder on your team I could lend a hand squashing bugs and adding features for a while. Just let me know.

Music to the community's ears ...
"Fairy tales do not tell children the dragons exist. Children already know that dragons exist. Fairy tales tell children the dragons can be killed."
- G. K. Chesterton

Wonderful HTML/CSS reference * Color Manager * Token Manager 2.0

User avatar
RPTroll
TheBard
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:26 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by RPTroll »

We are always looking for new coders! Glad to have you here.
ImageImage ImageImageImageImage
Support RPTools by shopping
Image
Image

User avatar
JamzTheMan
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1872
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 12:59 pm
Location: Chicagoland
Contact:

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by JamzTheMan »

Grimshad wrote:I'm loving Maptool and eagerly awaiting build 89. I am currently running build 87 since 88 crashes on me. 87 has bugs and error with fog of war running java 7 so I reverted to java 6 and it works fine now, but Maptool runs about 50% slower and lags a lot.

So here's to hopes of a new build soon! :)

P.S. I am a software engineer with some free time, if you guys need another coder on your team I could lend a hand squashing bugs and adding features for a while. Just let me know.


Is 89 a lot faster or Java 7 a lot faster or the combo of 89/Java 7? I'm currently running 1.6 and 88 and could use a boost when it comes to lighting and FOW.

I like to pre-populate my map with monster tokens and found after a while it was crawling. Figured out I had to turn "sight" off on all the monsters and it worked a lot better!
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork

User avatar
aliasmask
Deity
Posts: 8667
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by aliasmask »

This is the first time I realized this, but when players create a new macro on a token they own, the "allow players to edit" is defaulted to off. Doesn't make much sense for a non-lib token. The only way to edit would be to save token, open another instance, drop token, edit, save, delete old token, drop updated token.

User avatar
Rattrap
Kobold
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:07 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by Rattrap »

aliasmask wrote:This is the first time I realized this, but when players create a new macro on a token they own, the "allow players to edit" is defaulted to off.

I dunno if this is the same as b84, but I found an issue there was the option in Preferences to allow players to edit macros by default. I.e., if you've set it so players can't edit macros by default, when you as a player create a macro you can't edit it - but by toggling that, you then can edit your own (newly created) macros (regardless of server settings). Ran into this a few times.

Perhaps it's a combination between the client's preferences and the server's preferences. I know at least for sure that with the server set to allow and the client set to deny, that client can't edit its own newly created macros (but others with their options set to allow could on the same server - again on b84).

User avatar
aliasmask
Deity
Posts: 8667
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by aliasmask »

Oh I see. Strange place to have a server setting.

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12061
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)

Post by Azhrei »

Yeah, that whole Preferences panel is due for an overhaul. Many of the things on it should be controlled by a server setting and enforced on the clients...

Locked

Return to “Announcements”