CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Discussion of your thoughts & requests, help for users and game specific configuration files for Character Tool

Moderators: Azhrei, dorpond

Post Reply
neofax
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1694
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 8:51 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by neofax »

The newest Character Tool build errors with an IllegalState error when trying to load either the D20 or Savage Worlds rpgame files.

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12050
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by Azhrei »

Stack trace, please?

On my Mac I can't get past "Game > Select Game". :(

I noticed that my checkout from SVN of the "web" project didn't seem to have everything in it. I had to grab copies of some of the stuff from the web site... :| That's probably not a good sign. ;)

neofax
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1694
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 8:51 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by neofax »

How do I do a StackTrace? Are you talking the error in the .chartool log.txt file?

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12050
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by Azhrei »

neofax wrote:Are you talking the error in the .chartool log.txt file?

Yes.

neofax
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1694
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 8:51 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by neofax »

I do not get a error in the log.txt file. However, the screen states:

"java.lang.IllegalStateException: Invalid property descriptor data."

Hopefully this will help.

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by jay »

Are you pressing the Launch button from the RPTools site which uses WebStart to load? If so, try downloading the zip file from the site, unzipping it, and running the batch file. Sometimes running from Web Start will get an error reading files.

Boerg
Kobold
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 6:38 am

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by Boerg »

I had the exact same problem as neofax, same error and everything. I also downloaded the zip and have this error. I hope this helps.

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by jay »

I'm having the same problem, it seems I tested with an older version of the file. I'll take a look.

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by jay »

It appears that Azhrei didn't update the game settings files when he updated the rest of CT for the new build. I'll talk to him and see if we can get that fixed.

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12050
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by Azhrei »

Yep, I didn't upload the contents of the "web" project from what Jay had put into SVN. I've done that now. Hopefully that's all of it.

(I need to add a README to the top level of the various projects to document their dependencies, both compile time and run time.)

Boerg
Kobold
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 6:38 am

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by Boerg »

Tested a bit and I am pretty sure it is working now.

scriptminion
Kobold
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:53 pm
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

Re: CharTool 1.0.b15 error loading D20 and Savage Worlds

Post by scriptminion »

I have recently (as of yesterday) downloaded this latest version of CharTool, and I am experiencing the same problem as previously described in this thread. I unzipped the file to my normal RPTools directory of C:\rptools\chartool-1.0.b15\ and ran the program both by only clicking on the JAR file and launching the program via the BAT file. No log.txt file is generated anywhere capturing exceptions; all I get is a pop-up window that says "java.lang.IllegalStateException: Invalid property descriptor data." whenever the d20 3.5 or Savage Worlds characters are selected. It happens no matter which way I run the program.

I do not use either of these character sheets at the moment. (I might use 3.5 at some point in the future.) I'm not sure how to fix this error, but I do not think this has been fixed as Boerg alluded to previously.

Post Reply

Return to “CharacterTool”