Silent Frame Form Execution.

Discuss macro implementations, ask for macro help (to share your creations, see User Creations, probably either Campaign Frameworks or Drop-in Resources).

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, giliath, jay, Mr.Ice

Post Reply
Ayesyn
Kobold
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:12 pm

Silent Frame Form Execution.

Post by Ayesyn »

Hopefully there is a way to accomplish this, but a search over the forums and the various functions has not helped me figure this one out.

On a high level, what I am attempting to accomplish is using multiple forms within a frame to select an ability, then the qualities unique to that ability during a roll. Pretty much everything works fine, except there is an empty line entered into the Chatbox when the first form is submitted.

In short, I want to be able to submit an html form without causing output in chat. I would usually use the H roll option, but in this case it also prevents the html from appearing in the frame.

User avatar
aliasmask
Deity
Posts: 8667
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: Silent Frame Form Execution.

Post by aliasmask »

Posting some code would be helpful, but you probably have a comment outside of the frame code segment. You can either delete it or put the comment in a statement like so:

Code: Select all

[H: '<!-- comment -->']

What I really recommend is using [wfunc]defineFunction[/wfunc] (UDF) and turn the output off. And for the form process macro, set the output to "none".

User avatar
Bone White
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1124
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:41 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Silent Frame Form Execution.

Post by Bone White »

Ensure that the output part of your macrolinktext on the form process is set to "none" not anything else. (the second parameter).

User avatar
aliasmask
Deity
Posts: 8667
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: Silent Frame Form Execution.

Post by aliasmask »

I have a lib token starter kit here: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=25531#p255459

It automatically sets all your macros to UDFs with no output and has a function for output with additional options. You can read the token notes for details.

Ayesyn
Kobold
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:12 pm

Re: Silent Frame Form Execution.

Post by Ayesyn »

Bone White wrote:Ensure that the output part of your macrolinktext on the form process is set to "none" not anything else. (the second parameter).


This was what got me where I needed to be with regards to this specific macro. That's what I get for copy-pasting code out from a tutorial without fully understanding the arguments for the function. Thank you!

I had not looked at the defineFunction element before. This looks remarkably powerful and will help me streamline a lot of the work I still have to do on the framework. Thank you for that guidance, aliasmask.

Post Reply

Return to “Macros”