Selected token in Global Macro

Discuss macro implementations, ask for macro help (to share your creations, see User Creations, probably either Campaign Frameworks or Drop-in Resources).

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, giliath, jay, Mr.Ice

RuneStar
Kobold

Selected token in Global Macro

Post by RuneStar »

I'm hoping this is a simple thing, but I am very new to writing macros for MapTool, so here goes:
My problem: being able to see which tokens on screen I have made visible or not to the players.
My solution: Add a 'state' called PlayerVis to change the token appearance when invisible to players, and use a macro to change both Visibility and that state at the same time.

Now I thougt this would be straightforward - i.e. click to select a token then run a macro called Set Visible containing:
[h: setVisible(1)]
[h: setState(PlayerVis,0)]
But the error back is:
Error executing "setVisible": there is no impersonated token.
Error trace : Set Visible@campaign

What am I doing wrong? Any advise would be appreciated. Cheers

aliasmask
RPTools Team

Re: Selected token in Global Macro

Post by aliasmask »

On a side note, there is a visual indicator for "Visible to Players". When checked the token names are in Blue and when unchecked they are in Gray.

As for macro, make sure "Apply to Selected" is checked.

JoeDuncan
Giant

Post by JoeDuncan »

RuneStar wrote:
Fri Jan 21, 2022 4:25 am
Now I thougt this would be straightforward - i.e. click to select a token then run a macro called Set Visible containing:
[h: setVisible(1)]
[h: setState(PlayerVis,0)]
But the error back is:
Error executing "setVisible": there is no impersonated token.
Error trace : Set Visible@campaign
What am I doing wrong? Any advise would be appreciated. Cheers
All the stuff that relies on selected and impersonated tokens can be super finnicky to work with.