unexpected error

Thoughts, Help, Feature Requests, Bug Reports, Developing code for...

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Forum rules
PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)
Post Reply
User avatar
xTimx
Cave Troll
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:29 pm

unexpected error

Post by xTimx »

ok this has shown up while i was working in MTs


java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: unable to create new native thread
at java.lang.Thread.start0(Native Method)
at java.lang.Thread.start(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.addIfUnderCorePoolSize(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.execute(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$7.execute(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker.execute(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.maptool.client.AppActions.doSaveCampaign(AppActions.java:2132)
at net.rptools.maptool.client.AppActions.access$4(AppActions.java:2081)
at net.rptools.maptool.client.AppActions$56.execute(AppActions.java:2061)
at net.rptools.maptool.client.AppActions$ClientAction.actionPerformed(AppActions.java:2707)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(Unknown Source)
at de.muntjak.tinylookandfeel.TinyMenuItemUI.doClick(Unknown Source)
at de.muntjak.tinylookandfeel.TinyMenuItemUI$MouseInputHandler.mouseReleased(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mouseReleased(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.MapToolEventQueue.dispatchEvent(MapToolEventQueue.java:38)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)


says out of memory but i have 1500mbs chosen for the memory and i dont get it lol

plus i have made MUCH bigger maps on MTs than the one i'm working on.

User avatar
jfrazierjr
Deity
Posts: 5176
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:31 pm

Re: unexpected error

Post by jfrazierjr »

and just how big is your stack size?? and exactly what are you doing when this happens..

Oh, and by the way, you should NOT post to the bug reports forum until discussed in a main MapTool forum thread and confirmed to be a bug(as per the read me first sticky in this forum that you should read now)
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..

User avatar
xTimx
Cave Troll
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:29 pm

Re: unexpected error

Post by xTimx »

OH....crap i'm so sorry i didnt know :\

my stack size is 2 atm. whats the max that it can be?

User avatar
jfrazierjr
Deity
Posts: 5176
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:31 pm

Re: unexpected error

Post by jfrazierjr »

xTimx wrote:OH....crap i'm so sorry i didnt know :\

my stack size is 2 atm. whats the max that it can be?


the answer is, it depends. Can I assume you were running a macro at the time this happened or had just ran one?
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12058
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: unexpected error

Post by Azhrei »

xTimx wrote:OH....crap i'm so sorry i didnt know :\

That's okay. The sticky thread titled, READ ME BEFORE POSTING HERE is only there so that people won't read it.

:roll:

In any case, this is a common exception for memory problems. Search the forum for "native thread" and you'll likely find other posts. (That's the string that appears in the exception backtrace your posted.)

Post Reply

Return to “MapTool”