Token updating

Thoughts, Help, Feature Requests, Bug Reports, Developing code for...

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Forum rules
PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)
Post Reply
User avatar
wrathchild
Dragon
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Token updating

Post by wrathchild »

Hi all

Has it been considered to store token placement with the token, so that a token after an edit would simply save/overwrite it's old form using "Save" and adding a "Save As ..." option for modified versions?
Entering the Digital Age of Roleplaying.
Part of the Resident GURPS Lobby.
Calling for Halos to be Hexified.

User avatar
jfrazierjr
Deity
Posts: 5176
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:31 pm

Re: Token updating

Post by jfrazierjr »

Can you explain that in another way? I am really not sure what you are trying to accomplish
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..

User avatar
wrathchild
Dragon
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Token updating

Post by wrathchild »

well, I guess you can store tokens in two ways:

1: Inside the campaign file(s). This is convenient, but takes up space in the files. Thus you can

2: Store the token on a drive of some sort, hard or virtual. Here, it will have some sort of placement, which is usually expressed as some sort of path like any other file.

To accomplish #2, MT has the "Save" option when you right click on the token. What I was wondering is if there would be some advantage to have this work like eg. most file processors (word processors, graphics programs etc.) where you both have the options of "Save", that speed-saves/updates the file (when it's been opened from the drive), and "Save As ..." for use when you've eg. created a modified/second version of a token.

I'm in the process of some mass token updating, and it made me wonder, as I'm clicking a lot to save the tokens ;)
Entering the Digital Age of Roleplaying.
Part of the Resident GURPS Lobby.
Calling for Halos to be Hexified.

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9031
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: California

Re: Token updating

Post by aliasmask »

You can also export maps which would save all the tokens on that map. I would do that if I had a bunch of tokens to save individually.

User avatar
wrathchild
Dragon
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Token updating

Post by wrathchild »

Yes, that is basically a variant on #1. It has the disadvantage of being less flexible in terms of retrieveing the tokens when populating new maps. Unless I'm missing something, and that tokens are stored individually ... or can be retrieved from inside the map file? Hadn't thought of that option, will investigate!

edit: No, it does not seem like you can do that.
Entering the Digital Age of Roleplaying.
Part of the Resident GURPS Lobby.
Calling for Halos to be Hexified.

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9031
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: California

Re: Token updating

Post by aliasmask »

Are you building a monster database and then using those creatures on your other maps? You can have your monster map and then use a macro to summon them to your new map. This is done in the 3.5/PF framework. Saving tokens individually is tedious, so I recommend having a monster map.

User avatar
wrathchild
Dragon
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Token updating

Post by wrathchild »

That sounds interesting. Do you have a macro example?
Entering the Digital Age of Roleplaying.
Part of the Resident GURPS Lobby.
Calling for Halos to be Hexified.

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9031
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: California

Re: Token updating

Post by aliasmask »

If you download the latest 3.5/Pathfinder framework you can look at his code: viewtopic.php?f=53&t=26670

Basically, he has tokens on one map and a couple of different summon macros. It basically copies the token from that map and can create multiple copies.

User avatar
wrathchild
Dragon
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Token updating

Post by wrathchild »

Looking at token-related macro commands, that actually doesn't seem to hard to set up. Thanks for the direct.
Entering the Digital Age of Roleplaying.
Part of the Resident GURPS Lobby.
Calling for Halos to be Hexified.

User avatar
wrathchild
Dragon
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Token updating

Post by wrathchild »

So I went and made this little macro.

Code: Select all

[h: return = getCurrentMapName()]

[h: choose = getAllMapNames()]

[h: input("selMap|"+choose+"|Choose Map|RADIO|VALUE=STRING")]

[h: setCurrentMap(selMap)]

[h: choice = getTokenNames("json")]

[h: choice = json.sort(choice)]

[h: setCurrentMap(return)]

[h: input("numtokens")]
[h: input("foe|"+choice+"|Which?|RADIO|VALUE=STRING")]
[h: copyToken(foe, numtokens, selMap)]
Which does exactly what I want ... exept for the first and last items on the list, which contain brackets, as shown for the first item in the picture. How does one get rid of that?
Attachments
symbol.png
symbol.png (7.79 KiB) Viewed 1416 times
Entering the Digital Age of Roleplaying.
Part of the Resident GURPS Lobby.
Calling for Halos to be Hexified.

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Token updating

Post by Full Bleed »

Code: Select all

[h: return = getCurrentMapName()]

[h: choose = getAllMapNames()]

[h: input("selMap|"+choose+"|Choose Map|RADIO|VALUE=STRING")]

[h: setCurrentMap(selMap)]

[h: choice = getTokenNames()]

[h: choice = listSort(choice, "A")]

[h: setCurrentMap(return)]

[h: input("numtokens")]
[h: input("foe|"+choice+"|Which?|RADIO|VALUE=STRING")]
[h: copyToken(foe, numtokens, selMap)]
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

User avatar
wrathchild
Dragon
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Token updating

Post by wrathchild »

Just figured it out 5 mins ago, but thanks :-)
Entering the Digital Age of Roleplaying.
Part of the Resident GURPS Lobby.
Calling for Halos to be Hexified.

Post Reply

Return to “MapTool”