Issues with token VBL and the token itself not drawing

Thoughts, Help, Feature Requests, Bug Reports, Developing code for...

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Forum rules
PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)
rpt-steve
Kobold

Issues with token VBL and the token itself not drawing

Post by rpt-steve »

Hello all!

Forgive me if this has been hashed to death before, but I'm having trouble setting up token VBL on a token, and I've so far failed to find any helpful/relevant discussions of the problem I'm facing. It's very likely I'm missing some setting or other, as I'm very new to MapTool, but I can't for the life of me figure out what.

I have a token, meant to represent a section of a wall. It's a square token, the same size as one grid space. The problem is that the token itself does not draw overtop of the VBL. The player token's vision seems to be working properly in all regards. The token DOES block vision as I would expect it to, but the wall image which the token uses is not shown (it's just a black square in the player's window.)

The image does appear in the GM's window. So it's like the image is drawn over "soft fog," but not over "hard fog" - which the GM never sees anyway. Maybe the player would see it if the hard fog were changed to soft fog (is there a way to do that for the player?) but I was expecting/hoping that I could make the token itself visible to the player, but anything behind it would be hidden. That's the effect I'm trying to achieve anyway.

- I'm using the most recent MapTool 1.5.5rc
- The player token's vision is set up properly and he has a light source (at least, it seems to be behaving properly with regards to map VBL and other NPC tokens.)
- I dropped the original image on the object layer to make a new token of it, and set up token VBL.