Help requested: Connection issues

Thoughts, Help, Feature Requests, Bug Reports, Developing code for...

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Forum rules
PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)
Telurian
Kobold

Help requested: Connection issues

Post by Telurian »

I have been using Maptool for several years now and have been happy with it, so thank you to the devs. I have, however, recently run into a problem connecting to my GM's server remotely, where I have been able to do so for some time without issue. Last night my maptool could not discover connection info, or even see the list of the servers on RPTools.net so I'm assuming that it has something to do with the connection subroutines in Maptool or in the underlying Java install. I have uninstalled and reinstalled Java but had no improvement. I have been disabling my firewall for some time to allow Maptool's connection to work, so that is already done, and in addition my antivirus has been disabled to make sure that is not interfering.

To be clear, the Connection Information box in Maptool shows my internal IP but "Discovering..." in the External Address line, and stays that way indefinitely. Nothing has been changed in my install and certainly not within the last week, since last week I was able to use Maptool just fine. I have not updated windows within that time. I am still running Windows 7 which I know is a problem but I would rather not go through the headaches for days to update that just for this one fix. Any hints?

Telurian

aliasmask
RPTools Team

Re: Help requested: Connection issues

Post by aliasmask »

I see no one has replied. Is this taken care of by now? If not, do you have Comcast for your provider. I ran in to a similar situation and it turned out to be Comcast blocking stuff.

Telurian
Kobold

Post by Telurian »