Drawing circle from center doesn't work - any tips?

Thoughts, Help, Feature Requests, Bug Reports, Developing code for...

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Forum rules
PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)
Tana
Kobold

Drawing circle from center doesn't work - any tips?

Post by Tana »

Hi all,

I'm new to MapTool and am trying to draw my first map which - unfortunately - contains some circular shapes on the background layer.

According to the documentation and "hint bar" on the bottom of the program window it is possible to draw an oval from center by pressing "alt" on the keyboard. This works for pulling the oval across the screen from a center point but while keeping alt pressed the program does not accept any left mouse key input to finish the circle and draw it on the map. I am stuck at pulling the circle across the map and can't get it drawn since I can't finish the input.

I tried keeping alt pressed while pulling the circle, then letting go of alt and clicking left. But doing so saves a circle drawn from "corner" to my map. So the problem seems to be that MapTool does not accept any left mouse input while alt is being pressed.

So my really basic question: how do I finish drawing a circle from center?

aliasmask
RPTools Team

Re: Drawing circle from center doesn't work - any tips?

Post by aliasmask »

I have no problem doing as you say on MapTool version 1.7.0. I tested it on all the layers. You do have to have your mouse pointer on the map and not over a frame. I tested this on a blank campaign. Could there be another program in the background running having to do with your mouse that could be preventing this?

Tana
Kobold

Post by Tana »