Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v2.0

MapTool campaign files that encapsulate properties, tokens, and macros for a particular ruleset or game world. "Framework" is often abbreviated "FW".

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, giliath, Gamerdude, jay, Mr.Ice

Forum rules
This forum is LOCKED. If a thread belongs here, use the "Report" feature of the post to let a moderator know to move it. General discussion should occur in the User Creations or MapTool forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
Steel Rat
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1758
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Contact:

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6 [Fully Functional]

Post by Steel Rat »

Jshock wrote:"Lib:sheet" is a token that goes with the framework (it'll be on the "GM screen" map in a fresh EotE campaign file). The macro is on the token.

if it's opening, all you need to do is to get the framework's properties onto the token. Double click the token in question to edit it, click over to the "config" tab, and under the "Properties" drop down select "SWA". Hit OK, then reselect the token; the character sheet will display the token's name and stats (they'll all be at 1 if it's a new token).


Cool. Got it all worked out now. Thanks much!

One other thing. I don't see the Talent Trees on the character sheet. Anyone know if that's planned?
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.

User avatar
Steel Rat
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1758
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Contact:

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6 [Fully Functional]

Post by Steel Rat »

Ok, another question :D

When updating a sheet, there are checkboxes along with the skills. But I can't tell what the checkboxes do, if anything.
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.

User avatar
Jshock
Dragon
Posts: 311
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: West Warwick, RI
Contact:

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6 [Fully Functional]

Post by Jshock »

No idea if Daelkyr has any plans for talent trees.

The checkboxes clear a skill's value if you check the skill and update the sheet; a bit weird, now that I think about it. Isn't it more intuitive to just select the text field and enter 0?

User avatar
Steel Rat
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1758
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Contact:

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6 [Fully Functional]

Post by Steel Rat »

Jshock wrote:No idea if Daelkyr has any plans for talent trees.

The checkboxes clear a skill's value if you check the skill and update the sheet; a bit weird, now that I think about it. Isn't it more intuitive to just select the text field and enter 0?


Yeah, that's what I did, just clear the value. I thought maybe it would identify the skill as a career skill.
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.

Lobosolo
Kobold
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 11:18 pm

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6 [Fully Functional]

Post by Lobosolo »

Hi. New user to the forum and to MapTool. I have been messing around with it today and it seems pretty cool. My biggest draw is to use it for EOTE with friend back home. This framework is very nice, but I noticed some of the same things regarding criticals, etc that I see mentioned here. Daelkyr mentioned that he was working on 1.6S for ships back in September. Has there been any update on that? Not complaining at all, this is a great starting point for my crew....but I don't want to kick off a new adventure in 1.6 if there is an update right around the corner.

Thanks for such a great framework Daelkyr.

Regards,
Lobosolo

User avatar
Jshock
Dragon
Posts: 311
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: West Warwick, RI
Contact:

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6 [Fully Functional]

Post by Jshock »

Not to sound alarmist, but I went to PM Daelkyr about something about a week back and noticed he hasn't been on the forums since early September. :( He never replied to the email I sent, so I dunno...

Lobosolo
Kobold
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 11:18 pm

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6 [Fully Functional]

Post by Lobosolo »

Ack! I hope he is ok. September correlates to school, etc...maybe just busy. Hope so.

Thanks JShock.

User avatar
Daelkyr
Giant
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 10:23 pm

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6 [Fully Functional]

Post by Daelkyr »

Hello all. Sorry for the long wait. School (for my wife) and work for me has kept me from doing much of anything online this last few months. I have 1.6S all but finished, just need to add the tweaks that were suggested. My day off is tomorrow (Wednesday) so I'll get everything hammered out and posted. I'm glad that everyone has been enjoying what I put together all those months ago.

- Josh

User avatar
Daelkyr
Giant
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 10:23 pm

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6S [Fully Functional]

Post by Daelkyr »

The 1.6S update has been posted. I'm happy with how it looks and think that most of the bugs with tokens on different maps should be resolved. My next update will be to try and streamline some interface things.

Wishlist/Game Plan
    Easy to add custom skills
    Item Qualities standardized and replacing notes section
    Increase/Decrease Crit rolls
    Add Talent trees
    Overhaul framework "shininess"

User avatar
Jshock
Dragon
Posts: 311
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: West Warwick, RI
Contact:

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6S [Fully Functional]

Post by Jshock »

Aww snap; Nice to see you're still alive & kickin'! I'm going to grab this and try to port my maps over to it so I can use it next session.

User avatar
Daelkyr
Giant
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 10:23 pm

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6S [Fully Functional]

Post by Daelkyr »

[spoiler=The Whole Macro]

Code: Select all

[h:'<-- [email protected]:Sheet -->']

[h: SWT_ID= getSelected()]

[frame("Add Weapons", "temporary=0; input=1; noframe=0"): {
<html>
<head>
<title>Add Weapons</title>
</head>
<body>
[h: processorLink = macroLinkText("[email protected]:Sheet", "gm-self","","selected")]
<form action="[r:processorLink]" method="json">
<table width=100%>
   <tr>
      <th>
         Weapon Name
      </th>
      <th>
         Skill
      </th>
      <th>
         Dmg
      </th>
      <th>
         Range
      </th>
      <th>
         Crit
      </th>
   </tr>
   <tr align=center>
      <td>
         [r: json.get(macro.args,"newWeapon")]
      </td>
      <td>
         [r: json.get(macro.args, "newSkill")]
      </td>
      <td>
         [h:SWT_WeaponDamageNew = json.get(macro.args, "newDamage")][r: if(SWT_WeaponDamageNew=="",1,SWT_WeaponDamageNew)]
      </td>
      <td>
         [r: json.get(macro.args, "newRange")]
      </td>
      <td>
         [r: json.get(macro.args, "newCrit")]
      </td>
   </tr>
</table>
<table>
   <tr>
      <td>
         <table>
         [h: SWT_Column="0"]
            
      [h: SWT_ItemFields=getLibProperty("ItemQualities","lib:Sheet")]
      
      [h: SWT_ItemFields = listSort(SWT_ItemFields,'A')]
      [FOREACH(SWT_Item, SWT_ItemFields,""),code: {
      [h:SWT_ItemView=json.get(macro.args,"new"+SWT_Item)]
      [if(SWT_ItemView==1),code:{
      [r, if(SWT_Column=="0"): "<tr>";""]
         <td align=left>
            <input type='text' name='[r: "new"+SWT_Item]'  value='' size=2> [r: SWT_Item]
         </td>
      [h, SWT_Column=SWT_Column+1]
      [h, if(SWT_Column=="4"): "</tr>";""]
         [h, if(SWT_Column=="4"): SWT_Column="0";SWT_Column=SWT_Column]
            };{
         }]         </tr>
         }]
         </table>
      </td>
   </tr>
</table>
<hr>
<table align="center">
   <tr>
      <td valign= middle align=center>
         <input type="submit" name="Button" value="Add Weapon">         
      </td>
   </tr>
</table>
</form>
</body>
</html>
}]
[/spoiler]
[spoiler=The Misbehaving Code]

Code: Select all

[if(SWT_ItemView==1),code:{
      [r, if(SWT_Column=="0"): "<tr>";""]
         <td align=left>
            <input type='text' name='[r: "new"+SWT_Item]'  value='' size=2> [r: SWT_Item]
         </td>
      [h, SWT_Column=SWT_Column+1]
      [h, if(SWT_Column=="4"): "</tr>";""]
         [h, if(SWT_Column=="4"): SWT_Column="0";SWT_Column=SWT_Column]
            };{
         }]
[/spoiler]

So, here's my problem. I'm trying to make a two part form macro that will allow you to enter sundry information for Weapons (Name, Damage, Range, Crit, etc.) and then chose which item qualities are applicable for your weapon via checkbox. Once those have been selected, you would hit the continue and then this macro would take over the same frame and would allow you to enter in the ranks for each quality that has been chosen. So far, the macro handoff works if I don't have the two deep CODE macro entered in the second spoiler. I want to know why it's not working when I have several two-deep CODE macros in the framework elsewhere.

User avatar
Jshock
Dragon
Posts: 311
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: West Warwick, RI
Contact:

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6S [Fully Functional]

Post by Jshock »

Just curious. This line:

Code: Select all

[h, if(SWT_Column=="4"): SWT_Column="0";SWT_Column=SWT_Column]

Why set SWT_Column to its own value on false in the first place? The roll option version of an if() doesn't actually need a false value, and I was under the impression that using a variable to set itself was bad mojo... for reasons.

radekg
Kobold
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:06 am

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6S [Fully Functional]

Post by radekg »

I have small question: If player closes character sheet accidentaly, how can it be reopened?

Thanks!
Radek.

Lobosolo
Kobold
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 11:18 pm

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6S [Fully Functional]

Post by Lobosolo »

Just logged back in to see this update. Fantastic news! I am downloading it now to try it out.

Lobosolo
Kobold
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 11:18 pm

Re: Star Wars: Edge of the Empire v1.6S [Fully Functional]

Post by Lobosolo »

Just took a look. Love the new ship stats. Looks like you added the ship crit table as well. Nice.

I noticed that there is no longer a Library token or Dice Token with all the macros tied to them. How can I get to the macros so I can move some of them to Global? I tried adding a library token, but the macros are not there when I select it.

I do this so I can manually roll the crit if there is a +10 or +20 and then I can click the crit macro and it will put the crit info in the chat box. Then the player copies and pastes it into his notes. We will only do this until the crit macro allows for +'s. I know you are working on that right now.

Thanks for all your hard work!
Lobosolo

Post Reply

Return to “Campaign Frameworks”