Attempted to add custom overlay - now Tokentool wont work

Thoughts, Help, Feature Requests

Moderators: Azhrei, dorpond, trevor

Post Reply
Foxxy83
Kobold
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:15 am

Attempted to add custom overlay - now Tokentool wont work

Post by Foxxy83 »

I attempted to add a custom overlay to Tokentool 2.0 for use in my games, and this seemed to cause it to freeze up. Closing out Tokentool to try to reload it then gave me a Error message about the JVM. I tried uninstalling Tokentool completely and reinstalling only to get the same error trying to open Tokentool again.

Anyone have any idea how to resolve this or what is going on?

bobifle
Giant
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:36 pm

Re: Attempted to add custom overlay - now Tokentool wont work

Post by bobifle »

You'll probably get better insights than the one I'm about to give, but there's probably a directory you need to delete yourself to completely remove a tokentool installation.

a directory that looks like

Code: Select all

.tokentool
in your user directory (system specific)

this directory even contain an overlays directory. Try to delete the offending file.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7108
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Attempted to add custom overlay - now Tokentool wont work

Post by Phergus »

In your user directory there will be one (or several) hidden directories:

Code: Select all

.tokentool
.tokentool-nerps
.tokentool-rptools
Inside of that (those) directories is an overlays folder. That's where your bad one ended up. Delete it.

Foxxy83
Kobold
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:15 am

Re: Attempted to add custom overlay - now Tokentool wont work

Post by Foxxy83 »

Kay found the directory I needed to delete and got things working now, no longer getting the message about failing to load the JVM.

However, still have issues with getting the overlays I want to add to add with out causing the tokentool to freeze up and have issues? One of them is a png, and another is a Jpeg, I have a few others I want to try that I purchased from roll20's store to use in my roll20 D&D game. However not sure about messing with those until I get these two overlays to work for making tokens.

bobifle
Giant
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:36 pm

Re: Attempted to add custom overlay - now Tokentool wont work

Post by bobifle »

Can you share one of the png file that triggers the issue ?

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7108
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Attempted to add custom overlay - now Tokentool wont work

Post by Phergus »

JPEGs can't work as an Overlay. JPEGs don't support transparency. They can be used as bases.

PNG overlays must have a very specific magenta color to indicate the area to mask out.
009129.png
009129.png (14.74 KiB) Viewed 654 times
The 2.0+ versions of TokenTool also support Photoshop files where the mask is on one layer and the overlay image is on another.

Post Reply

Return to “TokenTool”