Tokentool not opening

Thoughts, Help, Feature Requests

Moderators: Azhrei, dorpond, trevor

Post Reply
Tzalik
Kobold
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 5:00 pm

Tokentool not opening

Post by Tzalik »

I've downloaded the latest version of java and anytime i try and open tokentool it get the initial little splash screen then nothing happens.

Using the link to:
TokenTool 1.0M5

and here is my java version test:

Java Runtime Vendor: Sun Microsystems Inc.
Java Runtime Version: 1.5.0_06

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7108
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Post by Phergus »

Run it from a shell and see if there are any error messages when it starts.

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

You might try opening up the java console to see what is happening:

Start->Control Panel->Java->Advanced

Verify that the Console section has "Show Console" set, then re-run TokenTool.

Another option is to download the zip version and run it from the command line, as phergus suggested.

Let me know if you need more info on how to do that, I can walk you through it. Just PM or contact me directly via my contact info.
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

Tzalik
Kobold
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by Tzalik »

Well part of my problem was that the show console wasn't set.. when I got that done and tried again i ended up with:

Java Web Start 1.5.0_06
Using JRE version 1.5.0_06 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator
----------------------------------------------------
c: clear console window
f: finalize objects on finalization queue
g: garbage collect
h: display this help message
m: print memory usage
o: trigger logging
p: reload proxy configuration
q: hide console
r: reload policy configuration
s: dump system and deployment properties
t: dump thread list
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------
TinyLaF v1.3.03
'Default.theme' not found - using YQ default theme.
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.rptools.lib.image.ImageUtil.pickBestTransparency(ImageUtil.java:169)
at net.rptools.lib.image.ImageUtil.createCompatibleImage(ImageUtil.java:135)
at net.rptools.tokentool.ui.OverlayListModel.refresh(OverlayListModel.java:102)
at net.rptools.tokentool.ui.OverlayListModel.<init>(OverlayListModel.java:55)
at net.rptools.tokentool.ui.ControlPanel.getOverlayCombo(ControlPanel.java:214)
at net.rptools.tokentool.ui.ControlPanel.<init>(ControlPanel.java:56)
at net.rptools.tokentool.ui.TokenToolFrame.getControlPanel(TokenToolFrame.java:131)
at net.rptools.tokentool.ui.TokenToolFrame.createEastPanel(TokenToolFrame.java:123)
at net.rptools.tokentool.ui.TokenToolFrame.init(TokenToolFrame.java:89)
at net.rptools.tokentool.ui.TokenToolFrame.<init>(TokenToolFrame.java:66)
at net.rptools.tokentool.TokenTool$1.run(TokenTool.java:57)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7108
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Post by Phergus »

Tzalik wrote:Well part of my problem was that the show console wasn't set.. when I got that done and tried again i ended up with:


You don't need Show Console set to use the programs. It just makes it easier to see if there are problems.

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

That's an interesting stack trace, which TokenTool are you using ? That is, which link did you use to get it ? Was it the webstart from rptools.net, or from sourceforge.net, or the zip download from rptools.net ?

The line numbers don't match up with the current version of TokenTool, which is why I'm wondering.

Try using this download instead:

http://rptools.net/dist/zip/tokentool-1.0M5.b25.zip

Download it, unzip it, then double click the jar file inside of it.
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

Demi
Kobold
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 10:01 pm

Re: Tokentool not opening

Post by Demi »

I went to make a token to day and when I tried to open my tokentool my laptop said it couldn't open the .jar files because it didn't have a program selected(even though two days before I was using it just fine) and had to select a program to open it with and not paying attention and just clicking yes when it showed(figuring it was going to select the usual program that opens it, I was wrong) ALL my .jar files now open with winrar so I can't use tokentool via the .jar file anymore does anyone know how I can fix this?

User avatar
wolph42
Deity
Posts: 9706
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:40 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Tokentool not opening

Post by wolph42 »

Demi wrote:I went to make a token to day and when I tried to open my tokentool my laptop said it couldn't open the .jar files because it didn't have a program selected(even though two days before I was using it just fine) and had to select a program to open it with and not paying attention and just clicking yes when it showed(figuring it was going to select the usual program that opens it, I was wrong) ALL my .jar files now open with winrar so I can't use tokentool via the .jar file anymore does anyone know how I can fix this?


right mouseclick: open with: choose default program: pick java.exe (don't forget to check the checkbox)

if you find that too difficult: reinstall java.

Joana
Kobold
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:25 pm

Re: Tokentool not opening

Post by Joana »

I have been using MapTool and TokenTool for a few years now and had them both downloaded so I could launch them from my desktop. However, I had a computer problem several months ago and had to uninstall/reinstall. When I attempted to reinstall TokenTool, I no longer got an icon for the shortcut nor can I run it by double-clicking the .jar file.

Screenshot

Obviously, due to security settings, running it from WebLauch is difficult, and I'd really rather have it back on my desktop. Can anyone tell me what's going wrong? When I double-click on the file, absolutely nothing happens.

User avatar
JamzTheMan
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1872
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 12:59 pm
Location: Chicagoland
Contact:

Re: Tokentool not opening

Post by JamzTheMan »

Most likey same issue as above, see Wolf's post right before yours...

Alternatively, you can try my .exe version in my sig...
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork

Post Reply

Return to “TokenTool”