Exploding Dice?

Thoughts, Help, Feature Requests

Moderators: dorpond, Azhrei, giliath

Post Reply
Corwin
Kobold
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:26 am

Exploding Dice?

Post by Corwin »

Is their anyway to make this program use exploding dice? I'm considering moving my earthdawn game from table top to web, but While the map deal works great, I need to figure out how to role as an expample.

D20+d4 and if either rolls max they roll again and add up, while also seeing all the original rolls. I.E. 15,2=17 or 10,4,4,2=20

Is their anyway to accomplish this in the system?

User avatar
brisingre
Dragon
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 8:24 pm

Post by brisingre »

You can us javascript (I think it's javascript) to extend dicetool, but I don't know if you can do this particularly.
Chaotic Neutral means never having to say you're sorry.

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

That is correct, you can use javascript to make custom roll systems. You'll have to contact giliath to get the details
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

SinniusGreen
Kobold
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: Exploding Dice?

Post by SinniusGreen »

I set up my tab like this:
Step 1: ED(4)-2
Step 2: ED(4)-1
Step 3: ED(4)
Step 4: ED(6)
Step 5: ED(8)
Step 6: ED(10)
Step 7: ED(12)
Step 8: ED(6):ED(6)
Step 9: ED(8):ED(6)
Step 10: ED(10):ED(6)
Step 11: ED(10):ED(8)
Step 12: ED(10):ED(10)
Step 13: ED(12):ED(10)
Step 14: ED(20):ED(4)
Step 15: ED(20):ED(6)
Step 16: ED(20):ED(8)
Step 17: ED(20):ED(10)
Step 18: ED(20):ED(12)
Step 19: ED(20):ED(6):ED(6)
Step 20: ED(20):ED(8):ED(6)

You can change the :'s to +'s if you only want to see the result, but I like to see each die's result.

And here's my functions.js:

Code: Select all

function registerFunctions() {
   var map = new java.util.HashMap();
   map.put("ED", step01);
   return map;
}



function step01(a) {
   row.label="ED("+a+")";
   var roll = Math.floor(Math.random()*a)+1;
   var result = roll;
   if (roll == 1) {
	row.setForegroundColor(255,0,0);
   }
   while (roll == a) {
	roll = Math.floor(Math.random()*a)+1;
	result = result + roll;
     	row.setForegroundColor(0, 255, 0);
	row.label="ED("+a+")+";
	}
   return result;
}

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx

Re: Exploding Dice?

Post by jay »

Corwin wrote:Is their anyway to make this program use exploding dice? I'm considering moving my earthdawn game from table top to web, but While the map deal works great, I need to figure out how to role as an expample.

D20+d4 and if either rolls max they roll again and add up, while also seeing all the original rolls. I.E. 15,2=17 or 10,4,4,2=20

Is their anyway to accomplish this in the system?
I believe you want to add an e to the end to get exploding dice. Your example is: d20e + d4e. Not exactly sure what is shown.

SinniusGreen
Kobold
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: Exploding Dice?

Post by SinniusGreen »

jay wrote:I believe you want to add an e to the end to get exploding dice. Your example is: d20e + d4e. Not exactly sure what is shown.
Is that a feature in the maptools? I tried your example in Dicetools and get a parsing error.

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx

Re: Exploding Dice?

Post by jay »

It is in the dice library code, so it must just be in maptools. Not sure why it didn't get back to dicetool...

Post Reply

Return to “DiceTool”