Maptool 3D

Talk about whatever topic you'd like, RPG related or not. (But please discuss things related to our software in the Tools section, below.)

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Post Reply
User avatar
Darkcrystal
Kobold
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:08 pm

Maptool 3D

Post by Darkcrystal »

in theory, is it possible to include maps in 3d with maptool?
By an update of the program.

User avatar
wolph42
Deity
Posts: 9852
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:40 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Maptool 3D

Post by wolph42 »

Darkcrystal wrote:in theory, is it possible to include maps in 3d with maptool?
By an update of the program.


3d has been discussed thoroughly in this forum so if you search around you'll find several topics concerning that. However your post is rather vague. What do you mean with '3d', like e.g. Wolfenstein or did you have something else in mind?

User avatar
Darkcrystal
Kobold
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Maptool 3D

Post by Darkcrystal »

I mean not a plateau from above but instead of drawings to represent houses, and many models 3d house.
A boardgame of 3d figures. Especially video game.

tiorthan
Cave Troll
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:56 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Maptool 3D

Post by tiorthan »

At the moment there is no reasonable way to integrate that kind of functionality into MT. It might be possible to add that into a future version, however since this is not a primary focus of the developers, nothing definite can be said at the moment.

User avatar
Darkcrystal
Kobold
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Maptool 3D

Post by Darkcrystal »

MT engine does not allow it then.

User avatar
aethelflaed
Cave Troll
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:30 pm

Re: Maptool 3D

Post by aethelflaed »

There was some clever work done a long while ago using iso that was pretty impressive, but it was I believe a little awkward in practice and never truly 3D.

User avatar
Darkcrystal
Kobold
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Maptool 3D

Post by Darkcrystal »

I think it would be a terrible thing to MT for 3d. Maybe for version 2. LOL. But far too long has developed.

Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion”