Edit Multiple Tokens Property

Talk about whatever topic you'd like, RPG related or not. (But please discuss things related to our software in the Tools section, below.)

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

AriesBreath
Cave Troll

Edit Multiple Tokens Property

Post by AriesBreath »

Hello, I am new to MapTool. I find it is very very versatile but sometimes there is something a little tricky or missing.

In this case, I am searching for a way to edit a property of multiple tokens together. I would like to select some tokens on my map, press Edit and, say, set the Strenght property to 14 for all of them.

This would be useful in case some tokens have something off and I need to replace something for all of them, instead of select one by one and edit that property.

The problem is that if I select more than one token, MapTool doesn't let me edit them, so how can I do it? Maybe some macro but aside from some super simple macros I can't write them.

aliasmask
Deity

Re: Edit Multiple Tokens Property

Post by aliasmask »

You could write a temporary macro to set the properties of the token in the Campaign Window. Make sure "apply to selected" is checked.

For example:

Code: Select all

[H: setProperty("Strength",14)]
You could then select all the tokens and run the macro.

AriesBreath
Cave Troll

Re: Edit Multiple Tokens Property

Post by AriesBreath »

Thanks, I would have preferred if MapTool let edit all at once but I'm ok with that.

SUPER EDIT:
I edited this post many times writing my progressions on this macro, everytime with a different problem.
Now I can finally say, IT WORKS.

This is the code, make sure the "Apply to selected token" is unchecked

Code: Select all

[h:input(
"Filter|Yes,No|Filter - Apply the edit only to those tokens with a common property value?|RADIO|SELECT=0 ORIENT=H",
"CommonProp||Common Property - Name of the common property",
"CommonPropValue||Common Property Value - Value of the common property",