Build 99 development

Progress reports and musings from the developers on the current gaming tools.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Post Reply
User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Build 99 development

Post by trevor »

Ok, so here's the plan for build 99:

- Make color pallete not show up on fog of war tools (done)
- Finish the adjust grid dialog
- Finish the stacked token hover

Question for you guys:

Token stack. Should the expanded stack show up on mouse over (instantly), mouse hover(some delay), or popup menu option ?

Also, I've got a plan that will combine the existing adjust grid methodology and the new method. Should be interesting (and challenging to write, neat).
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by jay »

Could it show up when I click the little icon you placed on the upper right corner of token stacks? That's my vote (if I get one :D ).

User avatar
rkathey
Giant
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Austin/Tx
Contact:

Post by rkathey »

I like the hover option or Jay's idea.
Meanwhile, back at the ranch, the RPTrolls are readying another attack of proposed functionality on the developers.

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

The only trick with the stack icon (which was my original intention) is that it may not be obvious how that it's clickable. It might also get very very small if it scales with the token (which I can't recall if it does or not)

Maybe I'll do that as a first iteration and we can see how it feels
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

User avatar
rkathey
Giant
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Austin/Tx
Contact:

Post by rkathey »

You could light it up when someone mouses over it. Maybe they would get the hint. :-)
Meanwhile, back at the ranch, the RPTrolls are readying another attack of proposed functionality on the developers.

Killydd
Cave Troll
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:56 pm

Post by Killydd »

My thought would definitely be in a menu, rather than having a popup occur just because you're letting the mouse hover over something while you're thinking and distracting/covering what you were plotting. Possibly the "move to front"/"move to back" could expand into a list of tokens that are at least partially in the relevant square?

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

Ok, I sat down to really hammer out the adjust grid dialog. And the amount of change needed to support it was starting to get a bit extreme. More than I'm comfortable with 1.0 looming on the horizon.

So this is my plan: update the adjust grid dialog to use the existing method of adjusting the grid, and push the non integer based grid sizes until after 1.0.

This will make 1.0 come out faster (woooo!) and will still support the majority of uses.

And, rkathey, if I get a chance, I'll put in a Direct tab that will let you put in the numbers directly. That's easy :)
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

User avatar
rkathey
Giant
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Austin/Tx
Contact:

Post by rkathey »

yeehaw!
Meanwhile, back at the ranch, the RPTrolls are readying another attack of proposed functionality on the developers.

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

Quick update, I'm almost done with the adjust grid changes and should have something in the next day or two. A couple other minor tweaks have gone in as well.
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

Emryys
Dragon
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Beneath the Aurora Borealis
Contact:

Post by Emryys »

Withdrawls... are.. setting .. in.. again
So.. close.. to... 1.0....

/me perishes from lack of vitamins M, T & D...
Game On!
Image

User avatar
rkathey
Giant
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Austin/Tx
Contact:

Post by rkathey »

I find posting really long messages to the forum helps... a little.
Meanwhile, back at the ranch, the RPTrolls are readying another attack of proposed functionality on the developers.

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

Heh, posting helps me too :) I've been hammering on the adjust grid dialog, getting close, had to rewrite the adjust grid panel. I'm hoping to build tonight.
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

Post Reply

Return to “Developer Notes”