Hard fork into QT

Progress reports and musings from the developers on the current gaming tools.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

KayZee
Kobold

Hard fork into QT

Post by KayZee »

So I've looked over the current latest build and came to the conclusion that building off of JavaFX isn't a very viable solution given that standard is already on the falloff. Looking into QT or unity seems to be the way forward, and given I have some QT experience (having contributed, and worked with customizing MIXXX), I'll look into what can be done in migration.

This will most likely be a multi-year project, and it'll take perhaps a year to hit the point of 'minimal viable product'.

So my question for the current maintainers for Maptool, is wither there's already a consideration for another framework? I know that there's chatter about dumping swing, but I'm not sure JavaFX is the right answer as JavaFX is already fading away.

I'm hesitant to say 'Unity' as I'd have to create my own markup language as opposed to QT's standard QML as I want to have interface mutability built in rather than hard coded as it is currently with swing.

Ideally, I'll start making a front end UI mock-up in QT, then see what I can bind the controls to using Maptools as the backend. I'll need some guidance as to what can be easily compartmentalized vs what is hard baked and needs to be separated with care.

Phergus
Deity

Re: Hard fork into QT

Post by Phergus »

You might be better off posting this to the MapTool discord server under development.

bobifle
Giant

Post by bobifle »

Qt's not free is it ?

Full Bleed
Demigod

Post by Full Bleed »

KayZee wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 8:21 am