1.3b42 Progress

Progress reports and musings from the developers on the current gaming tools.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

knizia.fan
Giant
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:43 pm

Post by knizia.fan »

Hi Trevor, I sent you a patch a few weeks ago and noticed that it's not in your b42 list. Just checking to see if it was missed or if there was a problem you want me to take care of. (I sent you email too, so hopefully you'll see this note before the build.)

Thanks,
--k.fan

User avatar
Mortani
Giant
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:00 am

Post by Mortani »

I noticed an issue running a campaign I loaded from SVN. The problem is with a macro. The intent of the macro is to prompt you, so you can tell the macro how many targets you need to roll attacks against. When running this macro in SVN 4585+ versus 1.3 b41, if you input anything greater than 1, it comes back with a "Could not execute the command:null" and in the console output of Eclipse it shows "line 1:1: unexpected token: ,"


The example here was using 3 as the input in b41
Image

Here is the Macro minus some of the formatting to hopefully simplify debugging.

Code: Select all

[H:n = Number_Of_Targets]
[H, C(n,""):eval("Attack" + roll.count + "= d20 + WisBonus + LevelBonus + Implement1Bonus + MiscAttBonus")]<br>
[C(n):if(eval("Attack" + roll.count) == 20 + WisBonus + LevelBonus + Implement1Bonus + MiscAttBonus, "<font color=red> CRIT!: ", "<font>") + eval("Attack" + roll.count) + "</font>"]

User avatar
thecyberwolfe
Dragon
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:57 pm
Location: The Great Wet North

Post by thecyberwolfe »

trevor wrote:Update

* Fix bug: resource library directories are not sorted on linux
Yay! There's 151 folders in that directory.
The Cyberwolfe
----------------
Them: "Name one thing a PC can do that a Mac can't!"
Me: "Right-click."

Lindharin
Dragon
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 4:51 pm

Post by Lindharin »

Mortani wrote:I noticed an issue running a campaign I loaded from SVN. The problem is with a macro. The intent of the macro is to prompt you, so you can tell the macro how many targets you need to roll attacks against. When running this macro in SVN 4585+ versus 1.3 b41, if you input anything greater than 1, it comes back with a "Could not execute the command:null" and in the console output of Eclipse it shows "line 1:1: unexpected token: ,"
Confirmed, same thing here. The bug does not exist in SVN 4583, and was added in 4584.

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

Thanks for the check ups, guys, that's really awesome !

I'll get those checked out before I build.

Also, I forgot a couple other updates contributed by jfrazier:

* Improve /whisper to allow using quotes for names with spaces (e.g. /whisper "joe blow" blah blah
* Improve /whisper to allow partial name lookup (e.g. /whisper jo blah blah)
* Add /reply which will whisper the last person to whisper you
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

knizia.fan
Giant
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:43 pm

Post by knizia.fan »

I re-checked out the maptool project today from scratch to make sure that I had the latest sources. When I run the line

[c(4): "x"]

I get a null pointer exception. If I run the line

[c(4,", "): "x"]

then I get the expected output of x, x, x, x.

I haven't traced it into the parser yet to track the issue down.

knizia.fan
Giant
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:43 pm

Post by knizia.fan »

I'm seeing a stack overflow error with long input text, which didn't happen in earlier versions of b42. Paste the following into chat.

Code: Select all

[h: setPropVars = 1]
[h:foo=0] 
[h:YourName="George Washington"]
[h: Weapon="Axe"]
[h: WarCry="No surrender!"]
[h: CA = 1]
[h: UsePower = 0]
[h: Weight="medium"]
[h:Ambition = "Rule the world"]
[h: bar = "c"]
[h: Name="Longsword +1"]
[h: Damage = "1d8+1"]
[h: Crit="1d6"]
[h:Keyword="fire"]
<br>
<i>New values of variables:</i>
<table border=0><tr style='font-weight:bold;'><td>Name   </td><td>Value</td></tr>
<tr><td>foo   </td><td>{foo}</td></tr>
<tr><td>YourName   </td><td>{YourName}</td></tr>
<tr><td>Weapon   </td><td>{Weapon}</td></tr>
<tr><td>WarCry   </td><td>{WarCry}</td></tr>
<tr><td>CA   </td><td>{CA}   </td></tr>
<tr><td>UsePower   </td><td>{UsePower}   </td></tr>
<tr><td>Weight   </td><td>{Weight}   </td></tr>
<tr><td>Ambition   </td><td>{Ambition}   </td></tr>
<tr><td>   </td><td>   </td></tr>
<tr><td>   </td><td>   </td></tr>
{if (setPropVars, 
  "<tr><td>Name   </td><td>"+Name+"   </td></tr>
  <tr><td>Damage   </td><td>"+Damage+"   </td></tr>
  <tr><td>Crit   </td><td>"+Crit+"   </td></tr>
  <tr><td>Keyword   </td><td>"+Keyword+"   </td></tr>",
  "")}
  </td></tr>
</table>

User avatar
jfrazierjr
Deity
Posts: 5176
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:31 pm

Post by jfrazierjr »

trevor wrote:Thanks for the check ups, guys, that's really awesome !

I'll get those checked out before I build.

Also, I forgot a couple other updates contributed by jfrazier:

* Improve /whisper to allow using quotes for names with spaces (e.g. /whisper "joe blow" blah blah
* Improve /whisper to allow partial name lookup (e.g. /whisper jo blah blah)
* Add /reply which will whisper the last person to whisper you
Oh, also:

Fix Bug: Loading a token having a Property Set which does not exist in the Campaign causes a Null Pointer Exception.
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..

User avatar
Mr. Pokeylope
Giant
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:24 pm

Post by Mr. Pokeylope »

knizia.fan wrote:I re-checked out the maptool project today from scratch to make sure that I had the latest sources. When I run the line

[c(4): "x"]

I get a null pointer exception. If I run the line

[c(4,", "): "x"]

then I get the expected output of x, x, x, x.

I haven't traced it into the parser yet to track the issue down.
Hmm... I may have done a dumb thing with the latest patch I sent Trevor. I'm out of town for today, but I'll look into it tomorrow.

User avatar
jfrazierjr
Deity
Posts: 5176
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:31 pm

Post by jfrazierjr »

Mr. Pokeylope wrote:
knizia.fan wrote:I re-checked out the maptool project today from scratch to make sure that I had the latest sources. When I run the line

[c(4): "x"]

I get a null pointer exception. If I run the line

[c(4,", "): "x"]

then I get the expected output of x, x, x, x.

I haven't traced it into the parser yet to track the issue down.
Hmm... I may have done a dumb thing with the latest patch I sent Trevor. I'm out of town for today, but I'll look into it tomorrow.
Can you email Trevor? If so, be may be able to fix before he did the build this afternoon.
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

jfrazierjr wrote:
Mr. Pokeylope wrote:
knizia.fan wrote:I re-checked out the maptool project today from scratch to make sure that I had the latest sources. When I run the line

[c(4): "x"]

I get a null pointer exception. If I run the line

[c(4,", "): "x"]

then I get the expected output of x, x, x, x.

I haven't traced it into the parser yet to track the issue down.
Hmm... I may have done a dumb thing with the latest patch I sent Trevor. I'm out of town for today, but I'll look into it tomorrow.
Can you email Trevor? If so, be may be able to fix before he did the build this afternoon.
I have put in a tweak for this.
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

Lindharin wrote:
Mortani wrote:I noticed an issue running a campaign I loaded from SVN. The problem is with a macro. The intent of the macro is to prompt you, so you can tell the macro how many targets you need to roll attacks against. When running this macro in SVN 4585+ versus 1.3 b41, if you input anything greater than 1, it comes back with a "Could not execute the command:null" and in the console output of Eclipse it shows "line 1:1: unexpected token: ,"
Confirmed, same thing here. The bug does not exist in SVN 4583, and was added in 4584.
This is related to the count bug and should be fixed with my tweak
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

knizia.fan wrote:I'm seeing a stack overflow error with long input text, which didn't happen in earlier versions of b42. Paste the following into chat.

Code: Select all

[h: setPropVars = 1]
[h:foo=0] 
[h:YourName="George Washington"]
[h: Weapon="Axe"]
[h: WarCry="No surrender!"]
[h: CA = 1]
[h: UsePower = 0]
[h: Weight="medium"]
[h:Ambition = "Rule the world"]
[h: bar = "c"]
[h: Name="Longsword +1"]
[h: Damage = "1d8+1"]
[h: Crit="1d6"]
[h:Keyword="fire"]
<br>
<i>New values of variables:</i>
<table><tr><td>Name   </td><td>Value</td></tr>
<tr><td>foo   </td><td>{foo}</td></tr>
<tr><td>YourName   </td><td>{YourName}</td></tr>
<tr><td>Weapon   </td><td>{Weapon}</td></tr>
<tr><td>WarCry   </td><td>{WarCry}</td></tr>
<tr><td>CA   </td><td>{CA}   </td></tr>
<tr><td>UsePower   </td><td>{UsePower}   </td></tr>
<tr><td>Weight   </td><td>{Weight}   </td></tr>
<tr><td>Ambition   </td><td>{Ambition}   </td></tr>
<tr><td>   </td><td>   </td></tr>
<tr><td>   </td><td>   </td></tr>
{if (setPropVars, 
  "<tr><td>Name   </td><td>"+Name+"   </td></tr>
  <tr><td>Damage   </td><td>"+Damage+"   </td></tr>
  <tr><td>Crit   </td><td>"+Crit+"   </td></tr>
  <tr><td>Keyword   </td><td>"+Keyword+"   </td></tr>",
  "")}
  </td></tr>
</table>
I tinkered around with this a little bit. This is some seriously weird stuff.

This fails the first two times you do it, then it works fine.

If you get rid of the HTML markup, it works fine.

I did some googling, and it looks like some certain html strings can cause problems with the HTML parser (go figure), and only happens the first/second time, then is fine after that.

I'm going to go ahead with the build as there is a workaround (just do it twice), then spend some time researching it for the next build.

My suspicion is that a regex was updated recently and became too complicated, hence blowing up during match. But I don't see it immediately.
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

b42 is released:

http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php?t=5436

Me. Sleep. Now.
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

Huoliuhi

Happiness

Post by Huoliuhi »

thanks a lot , bump up up up!!

Post Reply

Return to “Developer Notes”