Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Developer discussion regarding MapTool 1.4

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Forum rules
Posting now open to all registered forum users.
User avatar
Jagged
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1306
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:27 am
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by Jagged »

Craig wrote:rplib and dicetool have been added to github.
To build them you will need to specify the -PVersion=<version> option.
For example to install the pom into your local repository

Code: Select all

./graldew install -pVersion=1.4.0.1-SNAPSHOT
I think this might be a typo, or the Windows environment is different. I had to type:

Code: Select all

gradlew -Pversion=1.4.0.1-SNAPSHOT install

smaudet2
Cave Troll
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:57 am

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by smaudet2 »

Jagged wrote:
Craig wrote:rplib and dicetool have been added to github.
To build them you will need to specify the -PVersion=<version> option.
For example to install the pom into your local repository

Code: Select all

./graldew install -pVersion=1.4.0.1-SNAPSHOT
I think this might be a typo, or the Windows environment is different. I had to type:

Code: Select all

gradlew -Pversion=1.4.0.1-SNAPSHOT install
Where?

I'm staring at what I was pretty sure was maptool github...unless I'm not up to date somehow...there's nothing that looks like 'dicetool' in here.

Definitely, not the same thing as on the front page.

Be nice if you could actually find it...trying to use gradle is an excersize in how multiple technologies like to blow up when you throw them together... I may just continue porting the old dicetool to pom if I can't get gradle to work/find this supposed dicetool (which isn't in the correct repository if it even exists).

username
Dragon
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:01 am

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by username »

I suggest to upgrade the gradle version to at least 2.3 (2.14 is currently the latest 2.x version), unless there is a specific reason to stay older than that. 2.1 has some specific problems with eclipse oxygen and the buildship gradle plugin, which is the mostly used gradle plugin in eclipse. Apparently this is a general problem (https://github.com/eclipse/buildship/issues/607) they're not likely to fix. With 2.1, I'm stuck to the CLI.

(I can provide a pull request.)

jappyjoker
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 5:41 am
Location: Verona - Italy

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by jappyjoker »

Hi everyone!
I would like to contribute to the Italian translation, as of now many words are still in English.
I am not an expert in terms of coding, so I will ask you for help... Which files must I work on? (at least I will try)

Then, if you need any help for the Italian translation don't hesitate to contact me, please.

Thank you guys, this tool is really awesome

User avatar
Jagged
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1306
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:27 am
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by Jagged »

That would be great!

If you check out the source code you will find a language directory in the resources folder:
\maptool\src\main\resources\net\rptools\maptool\language\

There are a number of files in this directory that contain the various translations.
The file "i18n.properties" is the default English file.
The file "i18n_it.properties" is the Italian file.

So if you want to update a message that has yet to be translated, search the English file for the text you want to replace, then add the appropriate message line to the Italian file.

ps: I notice the Italian file is quite a bit smaller than the default, so I suspect there is a lot of work there if you want it :wink:

jappyjoker
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 5:41 am
Location: Verona - Italy

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by jappyjoker »

Jagged wrote:
Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:56 am
That would be great!

If you check out the source code you will find a language directory in the resources folder:
\maptool\src\main\resources\net\rptools\maptool\language\

There are a number of files in this directory that contain the various translations.
The file "i18n.properties" is the default English file.
The file "i18n_it.properties" is the Italian file.

So if you want to update a message that has yet to be translated, search the English file for the text you want to replace, then add the appropriate message line to the Italian file.

ps: I notice the Italian file is quite a bit smaller than the default, so I suspect there is a lot of work there if you want it :wink:
I found this file https://github.com/RPTools/maptool/blob ... properties
Is it the most updated? It's written it's the English translation file for MapTool 1.3...
Then I can't find some elements in it, like token size and stuff like that

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by Phergus »

That would be the current one. Clearly someone needs to update it to correct (or just remove) the 1.3 reference.

There may be strings found in the GUI that are not in the language files. This would be because no one has gotten around to updating that particular section of code so that it uses the translation files.

jappyjoker
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 5:41 am
Location: Verona - Italy

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by jappyjoker »

File updated on GitHub and pull request for the Italian translation

User avatar
JamzTheMan
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1872
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 12:59 pm
Location: Chicagoland
Contact:

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by JamzTheMan »

I didn't see an open pull request? Do you have a PR #?
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork

User avatar
Jagged
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1306
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:27 am
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by Jagged »

jappyjoker wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:55 am
File updated on GitHub and pull request for the Italian translation
Hi,

I am going to duplicate my comments in case GitHub does not send you a notification :)
This looks great.

My only comment would be about the lack of ampersands. For example
menu.edit=&Modifica has become menu.edit=Modifica

Is this deliberate? The & gets converted to an underscore and provides the keyboard shortcut.

Cheers :)

jappyjoker
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 5:41 am
Location: Verona - Italy

Re: Contributing to MapTool 1.4

Post by jappyjoker »

I just answered on GitHub :wink:
Yes I tryed to be consistent. Some of the underscored letters displayed a different shortcut than the one shown on the right of the word.
And then, keyboard shortcut are displayed, so the ampersand seems like a repetition :)

Post Reply

Return to “MapTool 1.4”