Error message??!!!

Developer discussion regarding MapTool 1.4

Moderators: Azhrei, dorpond, trevor

Forum rules
Posting now open to all registered forum users.
Post Reply
teroks
Kobold
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:28 am

Error message??!!!

Post by teroks »

I am new to this program and I am trying to put up LAN. I made a map using tool (VBL is in use), but I get following error message and can't play using created map. What to do?

java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.ToolbarPanel$3.activate(ToolbarPanel.java:210)
at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.ToolbarPanel$4.actionPerformed(ToolbarPanel.java:247)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2022)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2348)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(DefaultButtonModel.java:402)
at javax.swing.JToggleButton$ToggleButtonModel.setPressed(JToggleButton.java:308)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(BasicButtonListener.java:252)
at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mouseReleased(AWTEventMulticaster.java:289)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Component.java:6533)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(JComponent.java:3324)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Component.java:6298)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Container.java:2236)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:4889)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2294)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4711)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Container.java:4888)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Container.java:4525)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Container.java:4466)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2280)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Window.java:2746)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4711)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:758)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(EventQueue.java:97)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:709)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:703)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:86)
at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(EventQueue.java:731)
at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(EventQueue.java:729)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:728)
at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.MapToolEventQueue.dispatchEvent(MapToolEventQueue.java:36)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:201)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:116)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:105)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:101)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:93)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:82)

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7108
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Error message??!!!

Post by Phergus »

Similar errors in the past have been Java version related.

What version of Java do you have?

What version of MapTool do you have?

From MapTool, go to Help menu -> Gather Debug Information...

Copy/paste the output into a response.

teroks
Kobold
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:28 am

Re: Error message??!!!

Post by teroks »

==== MapTool Information ====
MapTool Version: 1.4.1.8
MapTool Home...: ..\..\..\..\.maptool
Max mem avail..: 910M
Max mem used...: 129M
Custom Property: -DMAPTOOL_DATADIR=..\..\..\..\.maptool

==== Java Information ====
Java Vendor.: Oracle Corporation
Java Home...: C:\Users\teroo\AppData\Roaming\JWrapper-MapTool\JWrapper-Windows64JRE-00053600256-complete
Java Version: 1.8.0_101
Result of executing 'java -version':
............: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_101-b13)
............: Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.101-b13, mixed mode)

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7108
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Error message??!!!

Post by Phergus »

Unfortunately where the error is occurring there are several possibilities for what is causing the crash. In all likelihood there is something wrong with the map and/or one or more tokens on the map. Starting MT with only 1GB for max memory seems weird and might be a factor if the map itself is large and complicated. If you are running one of the game frameworks, that could also be an issue.

Is the error generated when you try to start a server or just when you go to that particular map?

Post Reply

Return to “MapTool 1.4”