Zipped version?

Discussion of initiative tool.

Moderators: dorpond, Azhrei

Post Reply
User avatar
Steel Rat
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1758
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Contact:

Zipped version?

Post by Steel Rat »

Is there a zipped version of InitiativeTool available? I often have trouble with the Webstart just sitting at "Checking for new version" forever, even if I turn off my firewall. I'd really like to try it out...
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Post by Phergus »

Giliath made us promise not to tell where it was *cough*lookinfirsttopic*cough* :)

User avatar
Steel Rat
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1758
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Contact:

Post by Steel Rat »

ix-nay on the ecret-say. Oger-ray. ;)
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by jay »

I have updated the wiki to include the zip downloads as well. I think I've found all of the places where the tools are listed together and added init tool to these lists. If you see anyplace that I missed, just tell me where it is so I can fix it.

Jay

User avatar
Steel Rat
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1758
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Contact:

Post by Steel Rat »

Tried downloading the posted zip, extracted and tried to run it, but get an error "Cannot find main class". Could be something to do with policies on my work PC, not sure.
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.

User avatar
Steel Rat
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1758
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Contact:

Post by Steel Rat »

Never mind, does the same thing for MapTool, which I know works on my home PC. so it's got to do with either the Java Version or Policies on my work laptop.
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Post by Phergus »

Or you don't have the current directory in your class path.

Try running it from the shell as "java -jar .\<name>"

User avatar
Steel Rat
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1758
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Contact:

Post by Steel Rat »

Which folder should that be run from? I tried it from c:\ and it didn't load. also tried from c:\initTool and got the same error. No biggie, I'll just mess with it when I get home.
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Post by Phergus »

That would be done from the directory the jar file was in.

From a shell type "echo %CLASSPATH%" and see if one of the entries is a single period like this:

Code: Select all

.;C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.5.0_07\lib\tools.jar;C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\lib\ext\QTJava.zip


That period at the beginning mean current directory.

Or you can go to Control Panel -> System and click on the Advanced Tab. Then click on Environment Variables and check under System Variables for CLASSPATH. Should be something like I listed above.

Post Reply

Return to “InitiativeTool”