Feedback on Build 4

Discussion of initiative tool.

Moderators: dorpond, Azhrei

Post Reply
Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Feedback on Build 4

Post by Phergus »

I thought I already posted on this but...

Thanks for the UI updates! ¡Muy bueno!

Saving Creature Types works! Yay!

Edit Settings doesn't work. :(

Changing the font size for a Creature Type doesn't change the height of the display line and so sizes above 18 start to become problematic. Was going to a larger size to see if the widdle bitty icons would got bigger.

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Re: Feedback on Build 4

Post by jay »

Phergus wrote:Edit Settings doesn't work. :(

What isn't working?

Phergus wrote:Changing the font size for a Creature Type doesn't change the height of the display line and so sizes above 18 start to become problematic. Was going to a larger size to see if the widdle bitty icons would got bigger.

They don't get any bigger, I fixed them at 16px on a side. I guess I could make a setting for the icon size. The height of the display line is a bug. I'll write a tracker for them. Did you see the problem with the line height in list mode, table mode or both?

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Post by Phergus »

re: Line height

The line height is broken in both table and list mode.

re: Edit settings

Dialog doesn't open. Ran it from a shell to grab the exception info:

C:\mydocs\Gaming\RPGTools\rptools\initiativetool-0.1b4>java -jar initiativetool-0.1.b4.jar
TinyLaF v1.3.03
Theme: file:/C:/Documents and Settings/Owner/Default.theme
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.SettingsDialog.actionPerformed(SettingsDialog.java:209)
at javax.swing.JComboBox.fireActionEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComboBox.setSelectedItem(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.SettingsDialog.setFields(SettingsDialog.java:252)
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.SettingsDialog.<init>(SettingsDialog.java:161)
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.InitToolActions$30.actionPerformed(InitToolActions.java:695)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(Unknown Source)
at de.muntjak.tinylookandfeel.TinyMenuItemUI.doClick(TinyMenuItemUI.java:569)
at de.muntjak.tinylookandfeel.TinyMenuItemUI$MouseInputHandler.mouseReleased(TinyMenuItemUI.java:421)
at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mouseReleased(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Post by Phergus »

Tried a build using the checked-in source and it does the same thing.

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by jay »

I think that the preferences got messed up somehow. I haven't been able to recreate it on my machine yet, but I will make the code that is crashing a bit more robust to see if that fixes it.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Post by Phergus »

Could be since I did have custom properties defined.

Where are they kept and I'll delete them.

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by jay »

OK, I went into my preferences and messed them up to recreate your problem. I've added some code to correct that if it happens again. It will be in the next build.

If you need it fixed right away you will have to change your preferences which are stored in the windows registry. You can use regedit to delete the offending value. The branch that you are looking for is
'HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\JavaSoft\Prefs\/R/P/Tools\/Init/Tool\component\/Init/Tool/Frame'. Yes, all of those stupid slashes are in there. The key you are interested in is 'init/Tie/Resolver'. You can just delete it and it should start working again.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Post by Phergus »

Yup that did it. Thanks!

User avatar
jay
RPTools Team
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by jay »

Phergus wrote:Yup that did it. Thanks!

Thank you for helping me debug it. Stack traces are very helpful.

Post Reply

Return to “InitiativeTool”