Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Talk about whatever topic you'd like, RPG related or not. (But please discuss things related to our software in the Tools section, below.)

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Post Reply
HiTGray
Kobold
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:06 pm

Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by HiTGray »

Hiya. So I've watched the Thomas Champman video on vision/FoW and as far as I can tell, it's just not working for me the way it's supposed to. All the characters in the party I'm DMing have Darkvision, so they should be able to see 60' ahead at night w/FoW on. But it really doesn't matter what I set their vision to, what light source I give them, whether I give them a generic 60, they can only see 10' in all directions no matter what I do. It's making me crazy. I have to drag their tokens up to reveal what they see and then drag them back into place.

I'm running two instances of maptool (1.5.10) on a single computer (mac). Any help would be very very appreciated. :)
Last edited by HiTGray on Mon Jan 27, 2020 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Vision Issues

Post by Phergus »

Did you set the map to either Day or Night?

HiTGray
Kobold
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Vision Issues

Post by HiTGray »

I've tried every variation, but I'm trying to get it to work on Night.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by Phergus »

On your map, what did you set the Distance per Cell value at?

Sight and light definitions are in Map units. The default Darkvision is set for a radius of 60. If you set the Distance per Cell to 50 then they will only be able to see part way through adjacent cells.

If the Map Vision distance is set too low, that can limit how far they can see.

Start with the basics.
  1. Start up Maptool
  2. Drop a token on the default grasslands map.
  3. Set the token to be PC
  4. Zoom out to like 40%
  5. Hover mouse over the token. You should see a white "circle" indicating their vision distance.
  6. Hit Ctrl-W to turn on Fog of War.
  7. Select the token and hit Ctrl-I. That should expose the visible area.
Let us know if that doesn't work for you. You might also read over this Wiki article:
http://www.lmwcs.com/rptools/wiki/Intro ... and_Sights

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4530
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: MD
Contact:

Re: Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by Full Bleed »

Phergus wrote:
Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:52 pm
On your map, what did you set the Distance per Cell value at?
Per the question above, share your map properties found here: Map>Edit Map
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

HiTGray
Kobold
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by HiTGray »

Thanks so much for the response! I did steps 1-4. FoW was already turned on when I opened it so I turned it off. When I hover over the token, its name appears and that's it. No circle. When I click on it, a red and white square surrounds it and that's it. Nothing else happened. Screengrabs attached. Any other thoughts?

The cell distance is set to 5'. I didn't set it myself--I imported the entire lmop campaign from someone on here (thank you!) but I know the cells are set to 5' because moving a token indicates that the movement corresponds correctly.

I'll take a look at the Wikki.

Thanks!
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 9.59.38 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 9.59.38 AM.png (127.25 KiB) Viewed 638 times
Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 9.59.31 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 9.59.31 AM.png (198.93 KiB) Viewed 638 times

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by Phergus »

HiTGray wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:10 pm
I didn't set it myself--I imported the entire lmop campaign from someone on here (thank you!)
And thus why I told you to just use the default map that is there when you start MapTool. :wink: There is no telling what the settings are in that campaign file.

If you can't see the vision outline then you might try zooming out farther. The default Normal vision goes out to the Map Vision limit. If you set the token to use Darkvision it will only be 60' or 12 squares.

HiTGray
Kobold
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by HiTGray »

Right. I was just responding to your question about what the map was set to. But I did steps 1-4 and I just did again, with a different token I hadn't used before, and zoomed out to 7% and still nothing happens when I hover over it other than its name pops up below it.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by Phergus »

From the Map menu, select Edit Map and then Alt-PrtScrn to screen capture just that dialog. You can then cancel the dialog. It should be something like:
Screenshot 2020-01-28 12.10.34.png
Screenshot 2020-01-28 12.10.34.png (69.43 KiB) Viewed 630 times
Double-click on the token and go to the Config tab. Screen capture that.
Screenshot 2020-01-28 12.10.15.png
Screenshot 2020-01-28 12.10.15.png (114.67 KiB) Viewed 630 times
And the vision area should look like:
Screenshot 2020-01-28 12.12.36.jpg
Screenshot 2020-01-28 12.12.36.jpg (438.01 KiB) Viewed 630 times
If not, post your screen caps.

HiTGray
Kobold
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by HiTGray »

Okay. I DO see the white circle! Thank you! I had to get out to 3% and then widen out my app window a bit. I'm on a laptop and it was a little small for screen real estate.

Sooo... I'm not entirely sure how that solves my issue of limited vision in my campaign.

Screen Grabs attached.

Thanks!
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 11.24.41 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 11.24.41 AM.png (95.56 KiB) Viewed 628 times
Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 11.31.07 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 11.31.07 AM.png (526.24 KiB) Viewed 629 times
Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 11.25.50 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 11.25.50 AM.png (182.66 KiB) Viewed 629 times

HiTGray
Kobold
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by HiTGray »

I FIGURED IT OUT!!!! OMG thanks so much for your help. Sorry to be so dense. I'm a much better DM than computer person. :)

For some reason in the LMoP campaign, in the Map Properties, Vision Distance was set to 12. So I changed that to 60 and voila! I can see!! :D

Thanks again!

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by Phergus »

It's always something simple. Glad you figured it out! :D

User avatar
jfrazierjr
Deity
Posts: 5176
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:31 pm

Re: Vision only lets me see 10' no matter what my settings are.

Post by jfrazierjr »

HiTGray wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 3:10 pm

For some reason in the LMoP campaign, in the Map Properties, Vision Distance was set to 12.
Some people use squares since that's actually how much you move, or see, or whatever on a grid.... I really don't know why so many people get freaked out when D&D 4e converted from "you move x feet, to you move x squares". If one used grids in the first place(not judging one way or another but I have never played without visual aids in 35+ years), the difference really means nothing... and if one does Theater of the Mind, well...its all in the DM's head where you and the enemies are so again what does it matter.... but I digress....
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..

Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion”