Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0811.1)

Show off your RPG maps, campaigns, and tokens. Share your gaming experiences and stories under General Discussion and save this forum for things you've created that may help others run their own games. Use the subforums when appropriate.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, Gamerdude

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0803.1)

Post by Full Bleed »

aranginor wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 8:32 am
I tried to do this and it did not work. Using an html select tag. Tried to use the background-image in the style property of the option tag. Did not seem to work. It ignored the style property.
I see you added a frame preview so it's not essential... can do it with Wiki: input() so thought it might work here.
Maybe add a clickable column header (Name, School, Source) for when the various spell lists come up to allow people to sort by alpha, school, or source? Looks like when using Alpha it sorts by alpha. When using Class/Level it sorts by school.
Live sorting is not an option. The spell database is too big. The reason Alpha is sorted alphabetically and Class/Level is by school is because I pre-sort them in the index table. Searches always come back alphabetically because that is the order the spells are in the spells table. Let me think about it.
Np. I thought you were sorting them dynamically at the list and hoped this would be a simple feature hit. Kinda think it would be better if all the lists just used alpha though. Is that possible or does it affect how you're indexing them?
Might want to change the name of the launch landing "Home" to something like "Class Home."
Do you mean the Home setting on the settings page?
Yes. Didn't want it confused with what the "Home" button does (i.e. it doesn't take them to the page that "Home" is set to in Settings.)
And I was thinking that there should be a shortcut somewhere on the interface to always get to one's class home
Send me a couple of stars for your themes that match the height of home and settings graphics.
Incoming... (done)
Attachments
Spellfire - Class Home.png
Spellfire - Class Home.png (4.35 KiB) Viewed 5265 times
Color Wheel Curve - Class Home.png
Color Wheel Curve - Class Home.png (3.46 KiB) Viewed 5265 times
Last edited by Full Bleed on Sun Aug 04, 2019 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

aranginor
Giant
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:32 pm

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0803.1)

Post by aranginor »

Kinda think it would be better if all the lists just used alpha though. Is that possible or does it affect how you're indexing them?
Re-indexing to a new sort order is no problem because I do it outside of Maptools. The only reason I did it by school is for when playing a specialist wizard, you want to see spells grouped by school. Let me work on this.

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0803.1)

Post by Full Bleed »

aranginor wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 2:17 pm
Kinda think it would be better if all the lists just used alpha though. Is that possible or does it affect how you're indexing them?
Re-indexing to a new sort order is no problem because I do it outside of Maptools. The only reason I did it by school is for when playing a specialist wizard, you want to see spells grouped by school. Let me work on this.
Uh-oh... that sounds like a new settings feature (to display specialists spells differently)! ;)

Maybe allow players to select a different font or color or all bold... etc.
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

aranginor
Giant
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:32 pm

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0804.1)

Post by aranginor »

new version up (19.0804.1)

Had to update the token creation routine. GM now has to start PFSpells multiple times during initialization. Other way was not stable. Recommend deleting all settings.

Added font size next to font.
Added Saber Regular as a font option. Player must have it installed in the OS.
Uh-oh... that sounds like a new settings feature (to display specialists spells differently)!
done. special school setting on settings. special schools are bold in lists.
Kinda think it would be better if all the lists just used alpha though.
All lists alphabetized.

Image table received major updates. Increase images now creates a blank theme with no graphics and proper settings. All screens can load without graphics.
And I was thinking that there should be a shortcut somewhere on the interface to always get to one's class home
done

aranginor
Giant
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:32 pm

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0804.2)

Post by aranginor »

new version up (19.0804.2)
fixed an error in onCampaignLoad

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0804.2)

Post by Full Bleed »

aranginor wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:15 pm
new version up (19.0804.2)
fixed an error in onCampaignLoad
Just about finished my next graphics set and tried out the Expand Graphics feature.

I expanded (via settings) then went in and added graphics to everything but Schools and Descriptors, switched to Theme4 and it broke.

Initial error:

Code: Select all

 
Invalid condition in IF(!pfspells.hasShadowToken()) roll option.       Statement options (if any): h, if(!pfspells.hasShadowToken())       Statement Body : hid_playertoken = "Lib:PFSpells.Settings.Global"
It then displayed an "empty" (no graphics) version and if I reload it, it reinitializes like it's the first time running.
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

aranginor
Giant
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:32 pm

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0804.2)

Post by aranginor »

sorry for the lack of instructions.
  • In the images table, you must set hasImage to 1 when you add a graphic. Since there is no way to test if a table has a graphic (I spoke with Phergus and Aliasmask), I use a setting to know if I should get the graphic.
  • When using an all graphic theme, we don't want padding between the cell tables. However, when we have text instead of graphics we need padding on the cell tables or the links run together. So to figure out whether to use padding or not, I check Bloodlines, Rules, and Schools for graphics. If ANY one of them doesn't have a graphic, we use padding.
But none of this should have caused the error listed.

pfspells.hasShadowToken() checks the property "shadowtokens" on Lib:PFSpells.Settings.Global and returns a 0 or a 1 if the json array contains they name of the player shadowtoken
Invalid condition in IF(!pfspells.hasShadowToken()) roll option....
I have tried many things to re-create this error. The only way I can is with the following conditions:
  • The token Lib:PFSpells.Settings.Global is missing, AND
  • Initialized property of Lib:PFSpells is set to 1, AND
  • Click a link, in chat or in the interface.
or

Lib:PFSpells.Settings.Global exists, but does not have the "shadowtokens" property, which means the global token did not initialize properly after the second restart (or first if Lib:PFSpells.Settings already existed)

running tests to see whey the global token is not initializing property...

Edit: duplicated after initialization...almost there.

aranginor
Giant
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:32 pm

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0805.1)

Post by aranginor »

new version up (19.0805.1)

Initialization routine optimized. Once again, deleteAllSettings().

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0804.2)

Post by Full Bleed »

aranginor wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:18 am
sorry for the lack of instructions.
  • In the images table, you must set hasImage to 1 when you add a graphic. Since there is no way to test if a table has a graphic (I spoke with Phergus and Aliasmask), I use a setting to know if I should get the graphic.
I probably would have just dropped placeholder graphics into the spots, like a big black dot... or I could make a super basic placeholder graphic set if you'd like that to be used by default if you are adding a new graphic set. Or, literally, just copy everything about the default Theme (graphics included) into the new Graphic set.
  • When using an all graphic theme, we don't want padding between the cell tables. However, when we have text instead of graphics we need padding on the cell tables or the links run together. So to figure out whether to use padding or not, I check Bloodlines, Rules, and Schools for graphics. If ANY one of them doesn't have a graphic, we use padding.
    But none of this should have caused the error listed.
I see... that got complicated. :/

If you want to preserve the ability to use a text link instead of graphics, it seems like we need some kind of "Theme Editor" that has to be run after adding graphics to set that hasImage switches and Theme name, etc.


Btw, now that I think of it... after "Expanding" the graphics... I went straight to the Theme selector and saw that there was something called "Theme 4"... so that's what I used to break things. I was a little surprised to see that since I probably *should* have gone to Graphics to see if there was a new graphic option to select to *build* a new Theme. Those two things are a little intertwined now which could be confusing to some people (me included, apparently.) ;)

The graphics may be one of the most "obvious" parts of a theme (besides the frame), but it's really just a part of the theme. So when I make a graphic set and give it a name, that probably shouldn't necessarily be used for "Themes" (except maybe something like "Spellfire Default".) Know what I mean? I think when "expanding graphics" you should probably ask for a Graphic Set name *and* create a Theme Default for it.


Note: Cross posting... getting the new version now...
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

aranginor
Giant
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:32 pm

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0805.1)

Post by aranginor »

I had thought about a Theme Editor, but because I can't test if a graphic exists, the core idea of a theme editor is gone. I could make an editor to change name and set hasImage, but if you set hasImage and there isn't one, the library will break.

I could copy the images from the first theme (not necessarily the default theme) and prompt for a name. As I am sure know by now (since you are testing), the graphics option for the new theme is now set correctly when expanding images.

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9023
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0804.2)

Post by aliasmask »

Full Bleed wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 3:04 pm
I probably would have just dropped placeholder graphics into the spots, like a big black dot... or I could make a super basic placeholder graphic set if you'd like that to be used by default if you are adding a new graphic set. Or, literally, just copy everything about the default Theme (graphics included) into the new Graphic set.
I think the problem with that would be you wouldn't know to not post the image unless you want black dot images associated with whatever the line item is. For an inventory system, I would probably have default images for the items types and specific/custom items would be their image.

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0804.2)

Post by Full Bleed »

aliasmask wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 3:24 pm
Full Bleed wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 3:04 pm
I probably would have just dropped placeholder graphics into the spots, like a big black dot... or I could make a super basic placeholder graphic set if you'd like that to be used by default if you are adding a new graphic set. Or, literally, just copy everything about the default Theme (graphics included) into the new Graphic set.
I think the problem with that would be you wouldn't know to not post the image unless you want black dot images associated with whatever the line item is. For an inventory system, I would probably have default images for the items types and specific/custom items would be their image.
The point of putting in a black dot image would not be to not have to even check for an image. Something would be there. Nor would it be for functionality. It would be a reminder for the person adding the new graphics that, "Hey, I need to put something in that spot." When I was building my early graphics sets I'd just throw anything into the spots... then filled as I completed things.
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9023
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0805.1)

Post by aliasmask »

Okay, so we're assuming all table items will have an image eventually. Okay, valid point. I've only been skimming the posts here so I wasn't really sure of the purpose of the table.

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0805.1)

Post by Full Bleed »

aranginor wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 3:23 pm
I had thought about a Theme Editor, but because I can't test if a graphic exists, the core idea of a theme editor is gone. I could make an editor to change name and set hasImage, but if you set hasImage and there isn't one, the library will break.
I don't think the core idea is gone... though I haven't had a chance to check the new version you put up now. But if it's defaulted to text and I've got to go in and manually change a hasImage flag in the jsons for every table asset entry when I add a new graphic set that's quite cumbersome. I also didn't see a way to edit the Theme name without copy, edit, pasting that json line back into the table. So when I say theme "Editor" I'm just looking for a basic way to flip the switches and get at fields without manually copying jsons out of table entries and manually editing them and pasting them back (and for a way to name a theme, etc.)
I could copy the images from the first theme (not necessarily the default theme) and prompt for a name. As I am sure know by now (since you are testing), the graphics option for the new theme is now set correctly when expanding images.
Still haven't had a look at the new fixes... should be able to soon... maybe some of my concerns have already been addressed...
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

aranginor
Giant
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:32 pm

Re: Pathfinder Spell Database Library (UPDATED 19.0805.1)

Post by aranginor »

OK. I got it. I will create a Theme Editor that can manipulate all the settings of a theme except the graphics. It will be assumed that ALL themes will have graphics and I can eliminate the hasImage setting. When creating a new theme, it will just duplicate the graphics of the first theme, then a user can just replace the graphics one by one until their theme is complete.

I will also move the "Save this theme as default" to the Theme Editor

Post Reply

Return to “User Creations”